We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Daily Planet Cafe

Daily Planet Cafe
Ranked #7 of 49 Dessert in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Daily Planet Cafe is located in the Nature Research Center of the NC Museum of Natural Sciences and features breakfast, sandwiches, salads, wraps, desserts, smoothies, Larry's Beans coffee and a full bar.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Surprisingly good food for lunch at an 'attraction'. Enthusiastic and polite service persons and manager. Clean and comfortable area located in the research part of the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RayeF27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
249 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Break Downtown Raleigh...unexpected venue”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped in downtown Raleigh for a quick bite between State of NC meetings...saw this location on the corner and figured we'd get the typical museum sub and chips w/a pickle meal. Not expecting anything special, but wow...it was great. Line moved quickly..quite crowded with governmental folks on break from nearby office...not a problem at all with serving a large group. Food was excellent, had the portabella wrap with quiona salad and a wonderfully large Iced Coffee....yummy! I can say that we all left with a large smile, a full belly, and a new respect for the unexpected. The outdoor seating downtown was nice...sunshine during a day of meetings was a divine surprise. Will be eating here again...didn't go into the actualy museum but what I saw from their lobby...would be definitely worth a go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caytoncristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very good food.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were surprised at the variety of entrees and sandwiches available at this Museum cafe. Food is fresh and well prepared. The service was above what I expected at a Cafeteria type restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BobandPaulette1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,004 reviews
766 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Wow.. one of the nicest cafe's we have come across in a museum”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not the mundane type of food one would expect from a museum cafe or restaurant. The choices were exciting and the Italian Panini was very good. A bit pricey but what do you expect for the convenience of a museum eatery. You order online, but have a seat w/ a pager... when the pager vibrates and lights up a quick trip to the counter ... your order is ready and plated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPSaleebyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice menu selection; good food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I ate at the Daily Planet Cafe for the first time this week with my daughter. We were already at the museum and in looking at their menu, I thought "Wow, lots of neat options!" It's not your everyday cafe fare ... their menu includes Bison burgers, chicken salad with brie, and more tasty options. I got the chicken salad melt with fries (which were the shoestring variety - my favorite!) and my daughter got the PB&J kid's meal. My sandwich was HUGE. I could easily have shared it with another adult. It was very good, but needed more seasoning. It was a tad bland but the multigrain bread made up for it. My daughter ate her entire PB&J sandwich, which is unusual for her. They grilled it, which surprised me, but I found out later that you can request it prepared the regular way, too. The overall cost of this restaurant is about average - $8 range for sandwiches with a side. We'll definitely be back the next time we're at the museum!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelfan10706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily Planet Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Daily Planet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing