We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, family fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pullen Park

Pullen Park
Ranked #3 of 146 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Cheap, family fun!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Again, TA was spot on with the reviews for Pullen Park. My kids and I (ages 8 and 3)enjoyed a morning here and brought along a picnic lunch.
We arrived just before 10:00, which I would recommend based on parking and that it was not too busy. By 10:30, the crowds had rolled in.
The landscaping is beautiful - on par with Busch Gardens and Disney. We strolled around a bit and then the kids explored the playground. There are many pieces of equipment and stations for all ages! Next, it was on to the rides ($1/ticket). The kiddie boats were too "tame" for my 8 year old, but the little kids seemed to enjoy it. We all liked the train ride around the park and the carousel (yes, it's rather fast as another person said). We skipped the paddle boats.
We found a shady spot and enjoyed our picnic lunch. Afterwards, we treated ourselves to a locopop (local made popsicles). It was a fun morning out!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank wndrwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    200
    29
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wondeful oasis, fun and relaxing for all”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Adjacent to North Carolina State Univ. campus, this leafy, large city park has a lake with peddle boats, rides for little kids including an old fashioned carousel, a train running around the perimeter and around the lake, playground with great climbing equipment, picnic tables under the trees and picnic shelters to rent. The property has free parking, and an indoor aquatics center. There is a high quality concession stand (good quality food at reasonable prices -- you can eat a meal there -- many people come for lunch during the work week). The park is packed on nice weather days.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank debdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great place for children”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Pullen Park - a paradise for children. My 18 months old grandson loves this place - the rides. His favorite are the train and carousal. There are so many fun things for children and on warm days the paddle boats are a must. Pullen Park can be a full day outing - bring a picnic. It is also most enjoyable for adults.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank myo2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Peaceful, Scenic”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Perfect park for families and couples!!! Beautiful trails and a nice scenic view, Lots of cool activities for children to do and a decent playground area. For the couples their are paddle boats on the pound and nice trails to get away from people. I definitely recommend this park to anyone who loves the outdoors. ;)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Isaac8619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great park!! ”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Lots for little kids to do - boats, train rides & carousel.

They had live music the night we were there (happy coincidence) - so great!!

Snack shop & clean facilities.



Helpful?
Thank Kadvia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing