We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid on weekends”
Review of Moore Square

Moore Square
Apex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Avoid on weekends”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Rescue mission or church or something feeds the homeless, it gets pretty bad. Many of the homeless could use the help, some can be confrontational and a bit entitled, but the place is packed with homeless on the days that the churches put out food and sunsequently lots of litter and trash is left around.

Helpful?
4 Thank bigdumbdane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    8
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“several types of eateries”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Depending on my mood, I can find something to suit my taste almost every time

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank JMMcMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be careful”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Beautiful place... but be careful. The bulk of my time in this area was honestly to do mission work for the homeless.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Run Off The Bums And This Would Be A Fine Place”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Moore Square, one of Raleigh's original squares, could be a lovely area. Instead, our spineless city government (this means you, former Mayor Charles Meeker) handed it over to the local bum population. The situation's not helped by a homeless shelter directly across the street.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank CarolinaBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“During events, yes. Any other time, no.”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Sketchy area unless there is an event. If you want to visit the city market (across the street) it is nice. This is one of the very few areas of downtown Raleigh we just pass by.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Valcis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moore Square also viewed

 

Been to Moore Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing