We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelllent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bruno Restaurant

Bruno Restaurant
Ranked #219 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excelllent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This restaurant is in the back of a shopping center but once you find it it is well worth it. The service and food was wonderful. A little on the expensive side but definitely worth the experience!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Service Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have eaten at this restaurant on several occasions and have always had excellent service. The food if delicious and the presentation is as well. Our last expereience was on Valentine's Day and we opted for the waiter's recommendation which was NY Strip. As always cooked to perfection and the waiter was very professional and friendly. This restaurant also offers a good wine list. The atmosphere is upscale and decorated nicely. Truly a great dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disasterous night”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went To Bruno's last night for (Valentines day) Dinner was a total disaster. Lamb chops came out raw and were sent back. Came out a second time overcooked. Obviously the kitchen could not handle a full house. Unfortunately this was only one aspect of a very poor dining experience.Chicken Franchise was cut too thick and not particularly good. One good thing, They took all the food off the bill and only charged us for drinks.. Unfortunately that doesn't change the disappointment. Went to Bruno's once before on a slower week night. and everything was great so maybe it's just weekends and holidays you want to stay away.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jeffrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mostly excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great atmosphere and outstanding service. Seafood fettucine was fabulous as were lamb and salads. Shrimp scampi pretty good- shrimp were fresh but risotto not my favorite- almost too rich and buttery. Reasonable prices for high quality food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
442 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“No need to return.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

3 of 5 stars

(see explanation of ratings below)

First thing they did when we arrived was pour us a plate of oil. Bread arrived thirty minutes later, AFTER we requested it.

Chicken parm was over-cooked.

Tuna app was good.

Sea bass special was very nice.

About $30 per person, no dessert or booze, excluding tip.

Went here only because it's trending so high on TripAdvisor. I think I know why: they have not much competition on that side of town.

We won't be back. Nothing special.

About my ratings:

Only fine dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food (no table service)

2) casual dining (table service)

3) fine dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, typically more expensive than casual dining)

Fine dining can earn a max of five stars. Casual dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bruno Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing