We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a short visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Contemporary Art Museum

Contemporary Art Museum
Ranked #64 of 144 things to do in Raleigh
Attraction details
St. Louis
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK for a short visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are into Contemporary Art you will probably enjoy a short visit to this museum located in downtown Raleigh. We found it to be interesting but they only had a limited amount of art on display -however they did have three video exhibits on view. I don't think this should be a "destination" must, but if you are nearby it's probably worth a short visit. They do have a $5.00 admission fee.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 13Ezra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Side able facility, but tiny permanent collection. Potential, but just not worth it yet. $5 admission fee. Didn't stay more than twenty minutes.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiertraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Small, but different.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This museum was small but the building is not big so we didn't expect anything crazy. $5 to get in and I think that is reasonable. While we visited they had the terrain set up which was very different and neat. The museum only took about 30 minutes to compete wish it had more information about the art. Video at the end about animal extinction which was appealing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Underwhelmed by the visit today. To start, they were out of brochures so there was no information about the pieces. The space itself is quite small so can not hold many items. The lower level made no sense. An empty room with background noise that looked like maybe it was supposed to be showing a slideshow. For my art fix, would prefer the NC Museum of Art off Blue Ridge Road. Perhaps they've had other exhibits that were worth it but this wasn't worth the $5 each.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting, But Small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is one of the most interesting museums in Raleigh but it is very small. We loved the exhibits and each was very different.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette2073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Contemporary Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Contemporary Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing