We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just terrible!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Shane's Rib Shack

Shane's Rib Shack
Ranked #211 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Just terrible!!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Let me first say that Iam a put master and a KCBS member. I love smoking and grilling. Someone need to take a bunch of lighter fluid and burn this dump down. This is the only way anything will taste good! Iam so pissed that I spend money at this pretend bbq place. It was over priced and simply not good! The potato salad was a joke... It had large slices of potatos as if they are about to fry some chips! Just terrible...NO smoke taste what so ever. No flavor... I have been all over the world eating bbq but this place by far the worst!! The ribs are better and Applebees! Just terrible!! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!! The ribs did not appear to be tender at all. The only good thing about this place is that they do have good sauce and good customer service!!! That is all they have....well, wait my wife said the burger topped with bbq was good even if she had to wait 25 minutes for it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovetogrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great place for BBQ!
Good location, friendly service, and great food.
If you are hungry and want a variety try the Shack Sampler.
Sauce selection is outstanding!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aardvark68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIlson NC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Even though dinner here can get pricey, they have awesome food. The ribs and smoked chicken are delicious. I would not waste my money on the chopped chicken again, but other than that, I recommend everything! I do wish they'd give you a real plate to eat out of, but I have learned to deal. lol. Get there early or you will likely missed the smoked chicken, They offer several styles of bbq sauce, so my hubby and I can both be happy! You get LOTS of food, so we always go in with the idea of getting 2 different items and sharing. We always bring food home. It's casual atmosphere means anything goes.....who wants to eat ribs in a dress, anyway? ;)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

My friend and I went to Shane's to have dinner during a weeknight. We were impressed with the amount of food, the taste, freshness, the helpfulness of the staff. We ended with full racks of ribs and the fix ins. The flavor and tenderness of the ribs is some of the better than have had in years.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be.”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We first ate at Shane's Rib Shack (Triangle Town Center area) about a year ago and really enjoyed it. This visit, both my husband and I thought the ribs tasted more like vinegar than they used to. The meat was tender, but also quite fatty. The menu now offers sweet potato fries, but I'm not sure that's enough to make us go back.

Pluses: The restaurant is clean (though the table cloths are worn -- some torn). The staff is friendly. Food is served quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelsOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shane's Rib Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing