We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not perfect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mango Indian Cuisine - CLOSED

Blue Mango Indian Cuisine
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hillsborough St
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice but not perfect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

First time visitor. Decor is nice.. No smell of spices getting in your clothes. Server was prompt and very accommodating. Food was very average. I am a discriminating indian patron and I know when work is sloppy. That is what it was. Appetizer lamb dish was watery with lack of consistency. Had to return back to get it it right which they got it done. Bread served for only two people were Luke warm and soggy. They had been cooked little bit before they were served. Had to turn back and run thru tandoor again. Other dishes lacked jest and felt like prepped in hurry. Portions were good size.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gutrusingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very delicious food; elegant and modern decor. Inventive and satisfying twists on traditional Indian cuisine. Very positive experience from start to finish. The owner/chef was very attentive to our overall dining experience (even stopping by twice to ask how everything was going), and our waiter, Geovanny, was very good.

The portion sizes were plentiful - so much so that we needed to bring home multiple "to go" boxes. The Blue Mango salad was outstanding...just order and share a single salad if there are only two of you. :-) We also ordered the veggie samosa (excellent!), the Shakahari Vyanjan (delicious assortment of dishes), and the Masaledar Allo Gobhi (also yummy!). Throw in an order of the assorted breads (we did), and you have a very satisfying meal!

Only one issue (and not the fault of the restaurant): very limited parking. Plan on having a bit of a walk to/from the restaurant; however, it is well worth the trip.

We look forward to eating here again on our next visit to Raleigh!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckSDA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Atmosphere is beautiful. Food is so delicious. We have been several times, and every time the food and service are great. The Goat is fantastic. Go and try it. I,m hungry just thinking about it. I'm making a reservation right now. YUM

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banglaore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cold food and very slow service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited with my friend for a dinner , the service was very slow and the starter we ordered was cold. we ordered for honey shrimp and surprised to see with just four pieces and the food was cold .
Also ordered for vegetable pulao which was a big disappointment. it was full of cheese and beans...better to name it as cheese beans rice ..adding to it is the slow service...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Supa_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely slow service and ignored by waiter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went here on a Sunday evening around 6pm, and it was not very busy. We ordered drinks from the bar which were pretty good, not really watered down like many places. The waiter kept rushing us to order, but we wanted to enjoy the drinks first. Then he never came back. 20-30 minutes went by and I had to wave him down, which I hate doing at a restaurant. We ordered 2 more rounds of drinks and ordered our food since he kept asking. The food came out before the drinks did! I had to tell him to cancel the drinks, which he didn't seem to care and never even apoligized. After dinner, we thought about desserts but another 30 minutes went by of him ignoring us and we were already done with our food. The food was decent, good taste, right spice levels. We were very looking forward to relaxing with some drinks and fine dinner but Blue Mango's service totally ruined the experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TaxidriverX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mango Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing