We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Average Italian”
Review of Piola

Piola
Ranked #257 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really Average Italian”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was disappointed because Piola really seemed like it had the potential to compare with some of the designer pizzerias + bars in Miami and even Italy. The decor is bright + they offer an aperitivo everyday. They also have an all you can eat gnocchi day on the 29th of every month (gnocchi day was every Thursday in Rome). The restaurant was empty when my friend + I went, but the servers were friendly. We started with the bruschetta -- the bread was overcooked + the blended tomato topping was bland + desperately needed salt. I had the gnocchi legnano, which was supposed to be gnocchi is a four cheese sauce, and my friend had the odessa pizza, which was a pizza bianche with mozzarella, goat cheese, caramelized onions, + prosciutto crudo. The gnocchi was bland, gummy + the sauce was a basic alfredo sauce -- I definitely did not taste any gorgonzola. My friend liked the pizza, although she commented that the dough was very soft. It is a shame because they have a large + varied menu + the outdoor seating area seems like it would be great to go with a bunch of friends to share pizzas + drinks. Don't think we will be back, especially with so many great restaurants options in North Hills.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Burg
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Arrived late after leaving Bikefest. Wasn't that busy so we sat at the bar and ordered two pizzas to go. Bartender was very nice and helpful. Our pizzas were delicious and were ready in no time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All kinds of pizza”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you are looking for good pizza with any imaginable topping (or just a good pepperoni pizza), I would go here. Two of us had the thin-crust pizza and tow had salads with chicken on it. The salad was reported as OK, but I can personally say to come here for the pizza. It was excellent! BTW, the sweet tea was awful, so I switched to water.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food/Bizarre service experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went on a Friday night (late after 9ish) upon getting in to Raleigh, so fortunately did not have to wait. Upon arriving, service seemed a little slow relative to how busy it was, but it didn't bother us at first. Then, after about 30 min (and pizzas ordered), we were informed the pizza chef had quit on the job and pizzas were backed up while they called in another chef.... Needless to say, it took quite some time for pizza to arrive, which one of our pizzas wasn't even made (which can be excused, I suppose). We were given free dessert and apologies were extended, but, even with the disruption of pizza baking, service wasn't all that great (again, somewhat understood due to events that took place). But, even though we were told 'management' wanted to offer free dessert, 'management' never stopped by to apologize on our servers behalf. This would have been nice. I would try Piloa again.

On the plus: Parking is easy (if you park in the Harris Teeter deck) and walk to the end of the street level. Pizza is excellent, and moderately priced, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSState_inNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
574 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Italian with a Brazilian flavor”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is an interesting place. It tries to combine Italian food with some Brazilian ingredients like palm hearts or catupiry (kind of cream chese). Some of the pizzas in the menu have names of cities in Brazil. They even serve caipirinha, which is the most typical brazilian mixed drink.
Most of the folks in our group ordered the pizzas of different kinds. They were mostly very tasty, but we all agreed that they could have a little more content on the topping, otherwise one may go home a bit hungry.
The atmosphere is good and the staff very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piola also viewed

 

Been to Piola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing