We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite restaurant in the Triangle”

Gonza Tacos y Tequila
Reserve with OpenTable
Gonza Tacos y Tequila is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,465 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come experience the best Mexican restaurant in Raleigh.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in the Triangle”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The wait is long, but soooo worth it.

There is a ghost menu with extra items. Ask for the scallop tacos! The food is so good here. The service is excellent. Mr. Gonza himself roams the restaurant and is great to talk to. He gave my wife a free shot of tequila and dessert on her birthday.

We try to go once a week and it's not nearly enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aww3583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    145
    26
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“My new favorite place!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I can't help it....I'm in love. This place is terrific. So much better than the run-of-the-mill Mexican options available to us elsewhere in town. This is a Colombian/Mexican/Carribean fusion sort of thing. The atmosphere in the facility can do nothing but make you smile and forget where you are for a while. The food is so fresh and delicious. You want to talk about great bar service?!? Wow...their bartenders make some really mean drinks. My favorite is the Mexican Mohito. The owner is almost always on site making sure you are receiving the best of care. It does get very, very busy on Friday and Saturday nights, so go early or be prepared for a crowded wait. I will say that it is worth the wait though!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeanC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Try this for food from Colombia and Mexico”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here twice and we have enjoyed both meals. The flavors and spices anre outstanding. This is not your standard bland US-Mexican food. This food is full of flavor and taste. I loved the Colombian fish dish and would urge everyone to try it.

The down side here is that this place is conistently full and you need to get here early or suffer the long waits. This is certainly a place to stop if you are hungry for food with flavor in North Raleigh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanTColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It is good, but it is not over the top good”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was very good, and the service was very good, but I am surprised there are some many 5 star reviews of it. It is a step up from many of the Mexican restaurants in Raleigh, but I would not put it that far ahead of them. Worth a try, for sure yes, worth going back now and then, yes.

My only real negative comment is that it operates in a different space in terms of the amount of food you get vs. the presentation - meaning its portions are smaller than many of the other Mexican restaurants, and with an emphasis on presentation. Part of my review my be influenced because I was starving at the time and actually wanted a larger portion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PSUDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochster, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OMG you have to eat here.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was soooo good. We've always eaten at Dos Toquito's but tried this restaurant this time.....I think the owners are brothers??? Anyway...it was EXCELLENT and a bit less expensive. GREAT service. We had a waiter from Scotland (named Paco ha ha ) and it was great to meet him. Food was so good we couldn't stop talking about it. You won't be dissapointed. Sangri pitcher was great too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gonza Tacos y Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing