We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Mexican food! Must try”

Gonza Tacos y Tequila
Reserve with OpenTable
Gonza Tacos y Tequila is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come experience the best Mexican restaurant in Raleigh.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Mexican food! Must try”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Mexican Mohito was excellent
We had CHILES ENDIABLADOS(pickled jalapeños / bacon / cheese) - was SPICY and awesome!
If the kitchen is not too backed up they allow you to mix and match tacos sometimes - so definitely ask!
The PESCADO(flour tortilla / tilapia / cole slaw / tomatillo salsa) was not that great.
But I give five stars to -
CAMARON(flour tortilla / shrimp / cheese / tequila-chipotle / pico de gallo)
CARNITAS(corn tortilla / slow roasted pork / cilantro / tomatillo salsa / onions)

Ambiance is great. Expect wait times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sowmya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    131
    26
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I agree!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The reviews are correct! We went here on a weeknight and it was packed. Though there was a long wait, the bartenders were very attentive and friendly. The food was excellent. Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kmata99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Number 1 restaurant in Raleigh?”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I give this five stars on all counts. Waitresses were friendly, helpful and fast. Atmosphere was colorful without being tacky. Food was very good and prices moderate, what is there not to like? We were asked if this was our first visit and we said yes. So the owner made a trip to our table to say high and welcome us - that's friendly!

We started with appetizers of guacamole and Ceviche. The Guacamole was fresh mashed avocado with little else, not exactly what I call guacamole. Ceviche is normally raw seafood that has been marinated and cooked with the acid from the marinade and served as a thick Pico de gallo salsa. Gonza served what I consider a "Mexican Cocktail" as their version of ceviche, it was cooked seafood floating in a tomato based sauce. Both were very good, just not what was expected.

My wife ordered the shrimp taco's and said that they were the best that she has had.
I ordered Pibil, which is achiote cooked pork tacos, it was very good and spicy.
The portions are not huge like some Mexican restaurant, they are more petite like a gourmet restaurant.

Would I recommend it it? Absolutely! Would I rate it the best the restaurant around? I don't know. But my guess is that as far as tripadvisor is concerned, they have very few complaints which floats then right to the top.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_A_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A treat for sure”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This place is really nice if you want to enjoy nice Mexican food in a relaxed atmosphere. We sat outside and just let the waiter pick the food and everything from starter to dessert was excellent. We will come back again....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great but Overrated Here on Tripadvisor”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This is probably the best Mexican/Latin restaurant in Raleigh. Good food and a friendly owner (he's originally from Colombia, not Mexico). They wait is often quite long, so call ahead. However, this is not the #1 restaurant in the city, as ranked here on TripAdvisor. For serious cuisine, try the more upscale places like Poole's Diner, Second Empire, Glenwood Grill, Bloomsbury Bistro, Sitti, Vivace, Margaux's, etc.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank jwc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gonza Tacos y Tequila also viewed

 

Been to Gonza Tacos y Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing