We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent empanadas!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calavela

Calavela
Reserve with OpenTable
Calavela is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent empanadas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was a fun restaurant to try with our family since they have so many empanada flavors. We each tried different flavors and shared. Our favorite were the Holy frijole and BBQ Pork! Our waiter was friendly and helpful. It has a pleasant atmosphere--something fun for Raleigh.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goldilox057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
380 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fun and Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Want to try something different? Definitely check out Calavera for their variety of flaky and fresh empanadas. I'd recommend a lunch combo with a side salad-- the cilantro lime salad was truly amazing. Keep in mind that they also have dessert empanada options as well, so it is a great place to check out for the end of your night as well. Personally, their $3 a la carte empanadas are calling to me as a snack on a First Friday. Can't beat this deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great empanadas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Awesome tapa-sized empanadas! The elote is also fantastic, and the drinks tasty, if a bit pricey. This place and Buku down the street would make for an awesome ethnic food night!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SClark5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite spots in Downtown Raleigh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Calavera is a great spot for a light meal, some delicious drinks and a bit of atmosphere in Downtown Raleigh. The space is small, but lively and for those beautiful days outside seating is available. There are a number of different types of empanadas on the menu, including a couple amazing desserts, and the expected chips and dips.

The empanadas are cheap, drinks are good, and the selection of tequila is worthy of a flight. It's one of my favorite spots to meet people downtown in Raleigh for a quick bite and to hang out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank auromed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Cucumber Margarita Source”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Delicious empanadas and outstandingly creative margaritas! What an amazing combination! 7 of us dined here on a first friday in Raleigh and all had wonderful food and great service. Okay, the noise level was deafening at times, but the food and drinks more than made up for it. Would I go again? In a heartbeat, just not on a weekend night as I truly wanted to be able to have a conversation with the rest of the folks at my table.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MBiblis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calavela also viewed

 
Raleigh, NC
 

Been to Calavela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing