We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome !”

Orchid Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #319 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I found the restaurant because I was looking for an "all you can eat" formula.
That was awesome.
The overall bill is 20$ (taxes included, tips included and soft drinks) !
From shrimp tempura to California roll, with teriyaki etc....

Great, and I'll be back soon...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liloo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“the best non-buffet buffet ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

as you walk into the lobby, you are greeted and taken to your table where you are given the choice of menu or buffet but you look around and there is no buffet set up. you realize they make the food fresh as you order it, so you can enjoy your meal without everyone having picked over food you are liable to eat. then instead of trying to flag down your wait staff, there are these lights on every table that to get service you just turn on and your wait staff comes by to see what you need therefore they are not needlessly hovering either. i have never had a bad experience and i have been local patron there since they opened and would recomend you go. btw they have more that just sushi as well they have udon and cheesesteak rolls and steak and fryed fish and tempura etc... I just Love it there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal2mysoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
206 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I really enjoy this place! Price has gone up a little bit, but you can't beat the full menu - fixed price option. It's a great wayto try everything. If you like Sushi, you gotta try this place out

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
352 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“The Un-buffet Supreme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

What a treat this place is! All the advantages of a buffet with none of the bother. You sit and the buffet comes to you. Sort of a never-ending dim-sum. You can try everything and have as much as you want The sushi and every dish I tried was delicious and the tempura was especially good. The service was quick and friendly. If you do not have a big appetite, a regular menu is available. Give Orchid a try. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Orchid Sushi is Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I have been to Orchid sushi now about 5 times for lunch and dinner. I ONLY order the "buffet". Note that their concept here is unique. Instead of the usual sushi buffets you may be used to, you order the rolls or soup or entrees you want on a sheet and they bring the food out to you. You can have quite a lunch - miso soup, seaweed salad, dumplings, all you can eat sushi and dessert along with food for the non-sushi lovers in your family - all for 15 dollars for lunch and about 24 dollars for dinner + tax/tip.

The quality of their fish is very high, and my favorite by far is the salmon sushi. We aren't talking a razor thin strip of fish over a giant glob of rice here - we are talking about a beautiful marbled piece of thick fish over rice for the nigiri for instance. They have quite a variety of rolls to choose from and unlike sushi buffets I have been to the rolls are exactly what you would expect to get if you bought it a la carte. Again, quality is high and I have been at least 5 times and never had even a hint of getting sick or feeling that the fish was not fresh.

If you look on other sites like Yelp you see occasional complaints from people comparing the sushi at orchid to that of extremely nice sushi restaurants. Honestly that is not a fair comparison. If I were to eat my fill at a nice sushi restaurant it would cost me a hundred dollars. Here for 15 dollars I have a really pleasant meal in a clean quiet restaurant with great service, and the fish is really really quite good. Highly recommend it for group outings, they are very kind and will split checks for you. They are now closed Mondays due to it being a slow day, but go any other day of the week and you will be greatly pleased. I know I am.

One side note/complaint: hot tea is free a many buffets and is NOT free here. Just an FYI.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zabb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchid Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing