We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value for the money!”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We recently stayed here to attend a concert at the RBC Center. The room and hotel very super clean. The staff especially everyone at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. For the price we paid, you can't beat it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    90
    43
    18
    11
See reviews for
83
64
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2009

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was very conveneint to the interstate We will definately stay again on our way to the coast.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memawsTennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2009

The stay at the motel was great. Very friendly employees and great service. Stayed for over a week and rates were great. Would recommend to everyone who wanted to stay in the Raleigh, NC area. Did not know Red Roof Inn had this good of service and such a clean motel with a great staff. Kelly who is the motel manager was of great help and is very friendly. Will stay there every time I come to Raleigh, NC. With the good rates and great staff and management it will be the only motel I use from now on.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neighborOxford_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Got there and they could not find my reservation, so that took about another 45 mins. after traveling for 10 hours. Was told I would have an internet connection, but of course, it would connect for about 5 minutes then disconnect. The front desk told we didn't have a refridgerator or microwave, but when we got up there, Thank God we did!!! The number one disapointing thing was that we have stayed at some pretty crummy hotels/motels all over the east coast and this is the first and only hotel that DID NOT have breakfast in the "BREAKFAST ROOM".. Yea, there are still people who eat breakfast, instead of drinking it!!!!! Would not recomend this hotel to anyone that was going to be here for a week working.........

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeofthejungle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, general manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we take to heart what our guest have to say and try to improve from there. I am sorry there was a problem with the internet service while you were here, as I am sure you are aware that is something that is out of our hands and usually does not happen. I have e-mailed you to try to get some more information so we can address the problems you encountered.
Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina mts.
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2009

this hotel is hard to get to going south on south saunders st., have to go a block and make a u turn. Nothing in the breakfast room but coffee.....
Rooms are clean and the ac/heat is great and quiet. Receptionist and staff are very friendly and helpful. May stay again.....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, September 14, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on our property, we take what our guest say to heart and try to improve from there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GARNER
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Following a fire at my home in December, I checked into this hotel for what I thought would be a week or so. The damage was way more extensive than we first thought and I ended up living at the Red Roof Inn 3 days short of 3 months. I have to say, if you need to stay in a hotel for 3 months, this is the place to go. The beds are wonderfully comfortable, you control the temperature inyour room, the room is cleaned to spotlessness everyday, and the work station was awesome.

Especially diring the first few weeks when I came in every night covered in soot, the maids saw to it that I had extra towels and soap - Several times they knocked on my door at 9 at night with extra towels.

The front desk staff was wonderful and helped me out whenever they could. The coffee in the lobby was great, too.

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. Now that I am back home in the midstof the post-fire turmoil, I sometimes am tempted check back in to the Reed Roof Inn for a couple of days just for the peace and quite!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

I came to Raleigh for a convention. I stayed at the Red Roof because it was less than a mile from the convention center and much cheaper than the convention hotels. BUT THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO STAY IF YOU DON'T HAVE A CAR. The hotel does not have an airport or downtown shuttle and there are no eating places within walking distance. The rooms were clean and the service was good, but the facilitaty was bare bones. My complaints:
1. There was hot coffee, but nothing else, no hot sider or chocolate, and don't look for a napkin because there aren't any.
2. Don't ask about using an iron to spruce up your shirts - they don't have one.
3. Don't expect to get a late night snack from the vending machines - the selection is poor.
4. Don't expect a microwave to heat anything up - they don't have one.
5. Don't ask for the phone number for the airport shuttle - they don't have it.
6. If you want a resturaunt, fast food, or convenience store - forget it.
7. If you want to get to the convention center - the bus runs every half hour, but the last one at night leaves at 6:15, so don't expect to stay late. Taxi's were readily available.
8. The internet connect worked well on wireless, but don't expect to print out your boarding pass - they don't have a printer. And there is no computer in the lobby contected to a printer.
9. Don't expect a pool - they don't have one.
10. Don't ask about an excersize room, they don't have one.

If you want a cheap clean room, stay here. If you expect ANY extras - find someplace else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren_FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2009
It is true we do not have a shuttle but we do give out super shuttle's number so you can set up reservations with them. No, we do not offer continental breakfast but yes we do offer coffee, gourmet coffee (capps and latte's and even hot chocolate and tea, we offer cider when the weather gets cooler. There are napkins and if we happen to have run out and we have not noticed just bring it to our attention. There are 2 restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and we have many restaurants that deliver and have their menus at the front desk. Also, there is a convenience store within walking distance, just one short block! We are 1.3 mile from the convention center with a rate that is so more economical than the down town high rises, if you choose to pay $130.00 a night for the ability to print boarding passes that is great. Also, we do have wonderful All Inclusive King rooms that come with complimentary high speed wireless internet, a large work station desk, unlimited complimentary long distance and faxes and also a microwave and refrigerator in your room. Hair dryers and irons and board are available at the front desk. We may be an economical hotel but we have a great staff who will treat you like family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#18 of 86 in Raleigh
1,004 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#56 of 86 in Raleigh
98 reviews
6.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Raleigh - Crabtree
5.0 mi away
Best Western Raleigh North-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Address: 1813 S Saunders St, I-40/440 at US 70/401, Raleigh, NC 27603-2315
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#26 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Downtown Ncsu Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing