We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Roofs are on a roll”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Having stayed at another Red Roof a couple of nights earlier and being mightily impressed, I decided to give another one a try. It was almost as good.

Since I was staying 2 nights, I asked for one of the upgraded NextGen rooms. Extra price (about $6), was probably worth it, but haven`t seen what the cheaper rooms were like. Excellent work area, comfortable beds, modern bathroom, flat screen TV.

They served a rather sad breakfast in a bag. On the one hand, one wonders why they bother if they can`t provide something more in keeping with the classiness of the property. On the other hand, they are competing with a Super 8 and Comfort Inn a couple of hundred metres south who would have the more normal "free" breakfast. And there are no fast food options anywhere nearby.

Location is great for getting into the city, not so great for nearby dining options.

The (refundable if you don`t use) $1.50 per day fee for the safe is going to get more annoying each time I stay at a Red Roof, until...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your great review! We feel we are on a roll also and are really excited about our new upgrade to a Red Roof Plus Property! You'll have to come check out premium rooms next time you are in Raleigh. Thank you again and thank you for choosing Red Roof Inn!

Sincerely,

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 362 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

This has been our 5th or 6th time staying at this hotel. They have done a lot of renovations and it is looking very nice. New floors, new sinks and flat screen TVs. The rooms are just what I need for my swimmers and they are at a great price. The staff is very helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: WE were all on the 2nd floor,in the front. No problem with noise. We just used the standard room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwimCoach73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Hunt Swim Team:

Thank you so much for the review and it is nice to know that we are your choice in lodging when in Raleigh we hope to see you again soon and please if there is anything we can do for our group when staying here to please let us know.

Thank you again!

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Made a reservation and at check in, I was charged a different price and told the reservation prices vary from the real price. The non smoking room smelled like the smoking room at the airport. The room temperature was. 97 degrees. Yeah, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbarbwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay, I am terribly sorry for the confusion over the safe fee, the GSR at the front desk has been shown where her error was and that your rate had not changed it was the safe fee. We have had some pipes burst in some rooms from the freezing temperatures so I am sorry that we had to set them higher than normal and no room should smell like cigarette smoke, I am very disappointed that my staff let this issue slip through there fingers. I have gone in and done a hospitality adjustment on your folio for the problems you encountered, I hope that next time you are back in the area you will give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

my wife and I stayed in the newly renovated suite!! Let me say that is like wow! large and up to date. Hardwood floors, flat screen tvs,pull out couch!!! Best deal in town! I would go back in a second.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetogrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for the "outstanding" review, we hope that all of our guest leave feeling this and feel that the rooms and service we offer makes you feel at home! I hope that next time you are in the Raleigh area you will choose to visit us again.

Thank you again,

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The other hotels who accept pets are just so expensive when you add the pet fee!! This one was very reasonable. The hotel is very clean and the front desk staff was nice. The housekeeping staff did not acknowledge me in the hallway ( I had no problem with that). There was a team of three and they knocked out cleaning the room in no time. Great location in terms of easy access to everything. Will more than likely stay here again depending on what we are in town for and where we need the hotel to be in regards to that.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoonGirl706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

I am so happy we were able to accommodate you and your 4 legged friend, I travel with 2 dogs so I appreciate what Red Roof Inn has to offer. I am pleased to see that you found out price so reasonable and hope that next time you are in Raleigh you will choose to stay with us again!

Sincerely,

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed there December 7th, 2013 while on vacation.

Pro’s:

• Close proximity to downtown Raleigh, less than 2 miles way-starlight shoot into downtown

• Rooms are not typical Red Roof Inn, hardwood floors, flat screen TV’s.

• Easy access from 40

• Bagged Breakfast

• Jason who checked us in was amazing-offering us some wonderful dining options in downtown Raleigh-very friendly & knowledgable.


Con’s:

• Sheets could have been a little cleaner

• Have to make a U-Turn to get back to the hotel when coming from downtown


Overall I would definitely stay there again-great value for the $$ & convenient to downtown Raleigh without paying downtown hotel rates.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back-less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkkelly230Clearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a trip advisor review for us, your feedback is very important to me. I am pleased to see that you think we have are a great value, with our new rooms it is a great value.

I hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This Red Roof Inn is a grat place to stay and a great value. It is very clean and the staff was so nice and helpful. If you have to be in the area you can not beat this for value being clean and just a friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for taking time our of your busy day to post a review for us, I am so pleased so see that the property and staff made you feel welcome. I hope that next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us again.

I look forward to having you as a guest again in the near future!

K Kirk
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#16 of 87 in Raleigh
1,081 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#56 of 87 in Raleigh
102 reviews
7.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Crabtree Valley
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
Holiday Inn Raleigh-North
#25 of 87 in Raleigh
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Address: 1813 S Saunders St, I-40/440 at US 70/401, Raleigh, NC 27603-2315
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#26 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $71 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Red Roof Inn, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Downtown Ncsu Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing