We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Ranked #26 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this Red Roof Inn. I was able to have my dog with me and the rooms were extremely clean and well maintained. I felt comfortable because all the outside doors were locked except in the lobby and those are locked after a certain time. They provided you a "bagged breakfast" of oatmeal, an apple, and a bottle of water. The rates were more than reasonable. Will use them again in my further travels!

Room Tip: If you have a pet, the end rooms are more convenient when you need to take them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shug49543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
I am so pleased to see that we were able to offer you and your four legged friend a great place to stay, we try to be accommodating to those traveling with furry friends and I am pleased to see that we offered it to both of you.

I hope that next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us again!

K Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    80
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
58
49
29
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Cove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked this hotel because it was the closest and least expensive when going to the State Fair. Very friendly staff, laminate flooring, CLEAN rooms. Less expensive with none of the things I usually do not need in a hotel - no coffee pot (there is coffee in the lobby), no refrigerator, hair dryer. Just a clean room with a good price. Will definitely book for next year's fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for so much for your review and I am glad we were "exactly what you were looking for", we are proud of our new rooms and with reviews such as yours others will learn about the great product we have to offer.

We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!

K Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very friendly front desk, clean comfortable room, attractive laminate flooring which i loved, clean bathroom, comfortable large bed. excellent location for my trip. right off the highway easy short distance to Fuquay-Varina and minute cab ride to downtown Raleigh. would stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kendallbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Clean, Friendly and Comfortable exactly what I am hoping that we are providing. I am so happy to see that you had a great stay with us and hope that you will come back and visit us in the near future!

Thank you!

K Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, NC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really like the new look for Red Roof. We chose this for it's location - right off 40 - easy to get to - and had a good nights stay. The floors in the rooms are laminate/hard wood with a bit of carpeting around the bed for comfort. The look and feel is clean and bright - the bathroom was clean - although the vanity area was small and the sink big - I have no complaints. The staff was friendly. There are lots of places to eat nearby - shopping nearby. Only one problem - the a/c didn't work too well - we couldn't get it adjusted...but we'll let the front desk know. We came to Raleigh for the night - and will probably stay here again. The girl at the front desk said that the breakfast is really more continental that full - and they recommend places to go for a bigger meal if you want that. The room is a great size - nicely appointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moreauak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Moreauak:

Thank you for the great review! We try very hard to make our guest feel welcome and like you we love our new rooms. We are getting ready to become a Red Roof Plus property and will have a upgraded linen package, I hope you will be guest of ours again in the near future to experience Red Roof Plus.

Sincerely,

K Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We got married on September 21 in Downtown Raleigh and we needed a place for our out of town family to stay. A lot of people were skeptical because they have had bad run ins with previous red roof inns but I can honestly say that this Red Roof is wonderful! The new upgrades they recently had are great! Hard wood floors, flat screen TVs, new bathroom fixtures everything was new!! The housekeeping staff was friendly, prompt and thorough. I was able to get a complementary bridal suite and it helped make getting dressed and getting hair and make up easy. Surrounding hotels were charging 189-200 for a night stay...and that was the group rate!! Kelly and the Red Roof helped our family have a comfortable nights stay without breaking the bank!! We will defiantly be staying again!! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keosha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for such kind words, we really enjoyed helping your family and making sure that everyone was taken care of, I hope you will be returning to stay with us on your anniversary. Once again, congratulatins and best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hallways looked like they haven't been vacuumed for a year, elevators looked skeptical, paint on the doors was chipping. Definitely should spend some time doing maintenance. Water pressure in shower was good. I only stayed one night for about 9 hours total. It was okay for this and the price was right, but would not want to stay here more than this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsmacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for you for feedback I have shared your concerns my my maintenance and housekeeping staff. I am sorry that the halls were not clean while you were here, they are vacumned daily so I am sorry to hear that you found yours dirty, as far as some of the door frames being chipped, I agree that we do have some doors that need touched up but we have been running full and this cannot be done when there are so many guest in the hotel (don't want to get paint on anyones clothes), we are in the process of having the elevator stainless steel redone, I wish folks did not find it so tempting to want to take keys to it.
We strive very hard to make sure our guest have a pleasant stay with us, I hope next time you are in the area you will give us another try and that we can prove ourselves to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed many times over the past year. Phyllis and other staff members have always been polite and very helpful. Recent renovations are also a plus. Glad I discovered a new place to stay. If there is a negative, it would be getting on Saunders St during rush hour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmitt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Emmett:

Thank you for the great feedback and your continued patronage over the years, so glad to see that you like the new renovation and that the staff is friendly and helpful. I hope we will continue to see you when you are in town to visit NCSU, you know we love our Wolfpack Family!

Till next time,

K Kirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#52 of 83 in Raleigh
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Raleigh Downtown
Days Inn Raleigh Downtown
#63 of 83 in Raleigh
2.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Address: 1813 S Saunders St, I-40/440 at US 70/401, Raleigh, NC 27603-2315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#26 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Downtown Ncsu Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing