We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparkling clean, large rooms, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sparkling clean, large rooms, nice people”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We had a suite. The rooms were spacious, and furniture comfortable, and the lighting bright.
One minor complaint - small, hard pillows on the beds.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen_and_Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    90
    44
    18
    12
See reviews for
84
63
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights here and found the staff were great and the location was excellent.

On the downside there was no fitness suit but for the price that is to be expected.

The internet was wireless but less than great coverage made it extremely frustrating from a business perspective.

A trip to Kickback Jack's was the highlight of the stay but nearby a Walmart made grocery shopping easy.

Frustrating that there was NO facilities to print anything as no business center existed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Raleigh to visit my 82 year old aunt and uncle. They were not in any shape to put us up at their home. So we picked the Red Roof Inn on South Saunders Street to stay for the night. We knew from previous stays at Red Roof Inn's across the nation that we would be well taken care of there. The staff and the facility exceeded our expectations! Try it some time soon, you'll see!

William L. Morris, Jr.
Lincolnton, NC

Room Tip: Ground floor, non-smoking King business had a frige and microwave as well as a work table. We sprea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLMorris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

NOT WORTH THE SAVINGS!!! There were some hoodlums loitering in the parking lot at night, with pants hanging on the knees and underwear showing, hats sideways, and a comb in the hair. Later I saw one walking around looking into parked cars windows. Inside it was rather clean, but neighbors on one side had a very loud rap music playing every day till midnight and were arguing, neighbors on the other side having loud sex. It was loud enough to hear a guy say "Yo yo my baby got back, my baby got back, yo yo" and the bed hitting the wall... for about 20 minutes. This is supposed to be a family place and our kids were asking what are those people doing there. I recommend you rent elsewhere, this place is low rent....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caniac27603, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a Trip Advisor review, your feedback is very important to me and shared with my staff. Please accept my apologies for your less than stellar stay, as you can see by other reviews the problem you encountered is not the norm but very much the exception. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you again, if you would please contact me personally so we can discuss this issue it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

KKirk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My two stay at The Red Roof was an ecellant stay. Very clean accomodations and a big round of applause to Tressa, the clerk who checked us in. She is such a nice person and made the stay so pleasurable. This is my second time staying here. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is one of the nicer Red Roofs I've been to. Good value. King room had a nice corner desk for my laptop, and an OK (if older) TV; adequate for my needs. Because I have a torn meniscus, I opted for a handicapped accessible room (but without the roll-in shower, which I did not need). Plenty of grab bars, which made me feel secure getting in and out of the tub. Slightly better quality toiletries than the typical Roof, in-room coffee pot and hair dryer were a Roof first. Better lighting in the room, but still the same thin towels of a typical Roof. One down side...the shelf for toiletries was quite narrow; not enough space for my stuff in the bathroom. The breakfast baggie with the apple, bottled water and muffin was a nicer touch. Decent (if hard) bed, but I like a firm mattress. Although not traveling with a pet, I like the chain because they don't charge extra if you are.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziewrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, ct
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is conveniently located close to a major highway. It is also near by the Fair Grounds. You can't beat the price for the location. The service was good and the room was clean. Did not use any of the food service because i was on the go...

This place is SOOO much better than the Red Roof in Cary - that was a dump!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_in_Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.5 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#17 of 86 in Raleigh
1,022 reviews
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh Crabtree
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#53 of 86 in Raleigh
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
5.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
Address: 1813 S Saunders St, I-40/440 at US 70/401, Raleigh, NC 27603-2315
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Raleigh
#26 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Raleigh Downtown Ncsu Hotel Raleigh
Raleigh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing