We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer, so-so food.”
Review of red monkey tavern

red monkey tavern
Ranked #202 of 1,456 Restaurants in Raleigh
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great beer, so-so food.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in during a shopping trip. The waitress brought over a plate of what I think were very flat rice cakes and a mild hummus dip. Not really my thing.

The beer selection was good - got to try a new flavor of Irish Ale, and it was delicious!

Overall, it's convenience was the best feature - I got right back into shopping. There is a Cheesecake Factory right next door, which is where I went the next time. I liked that better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueLynxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    64
    35
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Passing through”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I was passing through after a week in Chapel Hill and dropped by Crabtree to get something to eat. I looked at a number of places but the name caught my attention so I thought I would try it. The service was very good and the good just as good. They were not very busy so I was able to get a table quickly and the food didn't take long at all. I got a burger and it was really good, more than I could eat so I ended up taking some with me. I would like to go back next time I am in the area. It was moderately priced for the style and type of place it is.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Be sure to go!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Every time I'm in Raleigh, I stop. Excellent service, food and prices.
It's in a Mall ... so you go shopping afterwards.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BonnieG161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is average at best”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Great wine (Malbec), but the food (falafel wrap, beef briscut) were both pretty average (at best). Great service and atmosphere....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beckysmith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love the Local Brewery Offerings”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always a great place to get Aviator and Big Boss Brews on Tap! Always a nice treat at the end of a shopping day or when letting the misses shop while I catch some sports and a cold local treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebigdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed red monkey tavern also viewed

 

Been to red monkey tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing