We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Casual Asian”

David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar
Ranked #49 of 1,465 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Join us at David's Dumpling and Noodle Bar, a new restaurant at the corner of Hillsborough Street and Oberlin Road. This unique eatery is owned and operated by Chef David Mao, a successful restaurant owner and culinary innovator in Raleigh since 1976. Over the years, if you have eaten at the Mandarin House, The Abacus, The Great Mall of China, The China Cafe and Grille and most recently, the Duck and Dumpling, then you have enjoyed David's inspired menus.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Casual Asian”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

David's has very good dumpling and noodle dishes, all made in-house under David's personal supervision. I've been there several times when in Raleigh for business and David is always there. Old school, but very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Owen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    62
    18
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expect the Unexpected”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

First time there today for lunch. The half-fried dumplings are the best I ever ate!!! I had the Banh Mi, which was some Korean short rib sandwhich that was really good, especially when you include the jalapeno's that they put on the side. The hot and sour soup was sooo different from what I am use to but was equally delicious. My husband had the papaya salad with lemongrass beef. Wish there was more papaya but the the beef was a home run. The decor was great. Loved the brick walls. Overall, very cool vibe. Staff was friendly and very accomodating. Lastly....GET THE HALF-FRIED DUMPLINGS!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandy1co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great find by mistake”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Delicious food! Found by walking around hotel looking for something to eat. Would defiantly come back to again if in raleigh. Quality was good. Atmosphere good. Took our kids with us.. they enjoyed. Service was great!

Helpful?
Thank me1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I'm so glad I heard about this little gem. Great spot where you can watch noodles being handmade. They are excellent!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great little restaurant”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Staying close to the University of North Carolina campus and not wanting a college bar for dinner is a bit of a challenge. However, David's Dumpling and Noodle Bar was a decent discovery for me. The waiter suggested the ginger garlic eggplant and pork as his favorite. It was a great choice. He warned that it was a bit spicy, but that was not any problem. Maybe a bit on the salty side, yet an excellent meal. Nice atmosphere as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Flowerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar also viewed

 

Been to David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing