We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, uneven service.”

David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar
Ranked #33 of 1,450 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Join us at David's Dumpling and Noodle Bar, a new restaurant at the corner of Hillsborough Street and Oberlin Road. This unique eatery is owned and operated by Chef David Mao, a successful restaurant owner and culinary innovator in Raleigh since 1976. Over the years, if you have eaten at the Mandarin House, The Abacus, The Great Mall of China, The China Cafe and Grille and most recently, the Duck and Dumpling, then you have enjoyed David's inspired menus.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, uneven service.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can't say enough about the Asian Street food at David's Dumplings. The Mu Shu pork dumplings is a must have.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    59
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Ate here on a recent Raleigh trip. Had the Half Fried Dumplings and two other dumpling plates. They were all great. Can't recall the names of the other two though. Also had the Filet Salad entree. It was cooked to perfection and tasted fantastic. I would definitely recommend it.
We went a little early and were the only party there but it filled up quickly while we were seated. No one rushed our meal and our server was great.

Give it a try if you like dumplings and asian fusion dishes, its well worth it. As to price, i didn't pay the bill but i thought the menu prices looked quite reasonable for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vtoria981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just what we wanted for lunch as we passed through Raleigh . As a Chinese person myself, I recommend this without hesitation. Great for out kids. Clean, fast and tasty. Had some dumplings and several noodle dishes ( Singapore noodles were great). Dumplings were so delicious. Can't wait to try again. Kids also enjoyed the food-

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ynotciti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Dumplings, Chinese cuisine and more”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A very lively place for a group event. It was chosen for our farewell dinner. Service is prompt and friendly. They have a wide array of different dumplings to choose from and it would be really difficult to recommend one over another. The Chinese and Korean entrees were excellent. A scoop of ginger ice cream for dessert was the icing on an already delicious cake. Will surely to visit again, even when not in a big group.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SrvDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“We ate here twice in three days!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On a recent three-day trip to Raleigh we ate at David's Dumpling and Noodle Bar twice because we liked it so much. Both nights we ordered off the small plates menu and especially enjoyed the half fried dumplings, the "cool" (not fried) Vietnamese spring rolls, and the baby green salad -- the dressing was excellent. The bar has a great beer selection including a very bitter IPA I enjoyed with the food. The wait staff was knowledgeable and attentive, and Chef David himself brought around shot glasses of delicious carrot-ginger soup. I'd love to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar also viewed

 

Been to David's Dumpling & Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing