We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown - Great Brisket....”

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
Ranked #265 of 1,446 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $6 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Recognized as the 2011 Reader's Choice - Best Barbecue in the Triangle. With 8 juicy hickory smoked meats - prepared daily and 16 fresh side - plenty of variety even for vegetarians. Kid's eat free every Sunday and Free Ice Cream with Purchase Everyday - see web for details. Ask about catering you next event - pickup or delivery and box lunches available.
Randallstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Downtown - Great Brisket....”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had the Brishket and it was meaty and moist. Excellent value for lunch of dinner. We ate at the downtown location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaxtonRd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What You'd Expect”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is more or less a fast-food joint, and if that's what you're expecting when you walk in, you won't be disappointed. I had the ribs, and they were pretty good. A little on the pricey side though...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Texas Favorite in Raleigh”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Usually when a great local place goes viral the quality suffers. I always loved Dickey's BBQ in Dallas (and when flying will opt for Dallas as a stop over so I can go there). A few have opened in the Chapel Hill, NC area and they are as good as Dallas. But then NC is familiar with BBQ.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank benl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awful - Ought To Be Shot Like A Crippled Horse”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Went here for lunch today. Long wait with little activity behind counter. The "cue" was dank-tasting, cold, fatty, and almost flavorless. The sausage was simply awful - had to disguise the taste with BBQ sauce. The green bean sides were boiled half to death and swimming in greasy water - Nasty Bean Soup. Pretty much the only edible thing was the (apparently frozen) fried okra.
For all this delicious stuff I paid almost $11 - and this was the Tuesday "special".
A bonus was listening to the manager laugh about a catering customer who called to complain about poor service: "He said he was gonna call the Chamber of Commerce - go ahead!" A clue to the awful food and slow service, perhaps?
Seriously folks, this is a state that prides itself on its cue. The kind of trip Dickey's served up to me today wouldn't cut it in Central Prison. Never again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaBBQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing