We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked this room for our wedding weekend. We had booked four rooms. Room #s 401, 430, 432, and 431. The rooms were very clean as was the hotel itself. The beds were super comfortable. Hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. We stayed there for five nights. On Sunday evening, after the wedding, they allowed us to bring food and hang out in the lounge area. They even opened the kitchen so we could heat up food that was left from the reception. They offered very good continental breakfasts every morning, consisting of more than the danishes and juice. Monday through Thursday, they offered various appetizers as well as wine and soda - free of charge.

When reading reviews for this hotel prior to booking we had read reviews of slow drains and noises from the RR. Family members that were staying in Rooms 430, 431 and 432, said that they definitely could hear the train coming by. It did not come by often but they said they could hear it. I was in Room 401 and definitely did not hear the train going by. None of my family members said it ruined their stay nor would it stop them from returning. I would have to agree that at least in our room, the drain was a bit slow. Again, it would not stop me from returning to this room.

They have a pool, nothing special and a hot tub. We used both and everyone had a great time. The hot tub was not very hot though. Good thing is that the pool was indoors.

The only negative to the hotel, which is not necessarily a negative, is that besides a McDonald's there really is not anything within walking distance of the hotel. But they do have a shuttle service (although we did not use it) and there are several places that deliver to the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the low numbers rooms, they are away from the railroad tracks.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azbaby8062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

It was a very busy weekend; the hotel was totally booked. The Operations Manager, Smantha, saw to our needs and made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. There was a snafu in our booking arrangements but she made sure we were completly satisfied with the changes she made. Actually, she upgraded our room and saved us money at the same time! Thanks to your excellent staff and customer service, we had a very enjoyable stay in your very nice hotel and will stay at no other hotel when we return to the area. Bill Meyers

Room Tip: If you have a child who attends NCSU, you are eligible for a reduced room rate.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My title just about covers it all! I just returned from Raleigh for a doctor's appmt at the Carolina Ear and Hearing Clinic and this hotel is just two miles away. Right on the border of Cary as the name indicates. Near the RBC Center, medical facilities and offices, and great shopping and restaurants like PF Changs, in a beautiful mall. The hotel gives you a list of great restaurants and directions to all. Also shuttle service. The room was very clean and new looking, included a coffee maker, refrigerator, safe, hairdryer, etc. I read one negative review about the railroad tracks and we heard two trains in 24 hours that went by in seconds. So was not an issue at all - kinda cool! Our sleep was not interrupted and, in saying that, there were two queen beds in our room and they were super comfy. Quiet room and very large flat screen tv. Gym and indoor pool near the lobby. Breakfastt was a deluxe continental, including bacon and eggs. It was a good experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 9/10/11 to 9/12/11 for a pleasure trip to the Raleigh area. It was located close to RDU airport and easy to find and was close to Cary Towne Center. The hotel is fairly new and is very clean and well maintained. The staff are very nice and helpful. The indoor pool and hot tub are nice additions, although we found the pool to be a little cold. Breakfast was hot and well stocked. The hotel also features a pantry for small food items and gifts. Rooms are well equipped and spacious and housekeeping was excellent. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmykid322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great hotel - less than one year old. Close to RBC Center. 42" flat screen and spacious/clean rooms. Very comfortable beds and pillows. They also have the rare two queen bed rooms. There's a McDonald's adjacent to the property if you need some quick food/drink.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C-Stop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

My wife and I travel extensively for both business and pleasure. I can certainly say this is a tremendous value in a hotel. The property is new, exceptionally clean and quite well decorated. Rooms are very spacious with high ceilings and plenty of lounging and work space. Beds are very comfortable. The staff here is outstanding. They are very friendly and well informed about the local area attractions and eateries. They can give you quality recommendations and directions. The managers reception is a nice treat. Free beer, wine, cheeses and a hot feature each evening. Pool area very clean with nice water temperature. Breakfast bar quite adequate and is kept extra clean and well stocked. They offer a movie each night in a seperate movie room. The seating is basic in the theater area but it remains a nice, seldom seen touch. Internet quality and speed are adequate. Internet signal on the outside at the rocking chairs is weak with frequent disconnects is my only complaint.

Once oriented to the location, I found I could travel all of Raleigh quite easily from this location.

I would highly recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure. It will become our place to stay in Raleigh.

Again, I would like to say the Staff is great!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked 3 rooms at this hotel. We were attending a wedding in the area. The hotel was brand new and the staff was very accommodating.

The hotel was about a 20 minute drive to Duke University. A drive through the campus is highly recommended. Duke gardens is not to be missed. One note is that Duke gardens is not handicap accessible which we did not know.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrj702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NikkiB34, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2011

Thank you for your positive review of the Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary Hotel. We love the spirit of celebration that our guests attending weddings bring to the hotel and are often chosen as the host hotel for wedding groups. Our central location is very convenient for guests visiting the local colleges as we are only 3 miles from North Carolina State University, 2.5 miles from Meredith College, and less than 20 miles from Duke University and The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. I hope that you will choose to be our guest once again the next time you are in Raleigh.

Best regards,
Nikki Boatwright
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raleigh
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
2.3 mi away
Ramada Raleigh
Ramada Raleigh
#17 of 86 in Raleigh
1,043 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arena Suites
Arena Suites
#31 of 86 in Raleigh
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
1.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Raleigh
8.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Raleigh North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary

Address: 6115 Corporate Ridge Rd, Chapel Hill Rd., Raleigh, NC 27607-5473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#21 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $91 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary Hotel is a smart, modern lodging choice, only minutes from The PNC Arena, NC State University & Carter-Finley Stadium, NC State Fairgrounds, Triangle Research Park and RDU Airport. Our smoke free hotel offers numerous amenities and services for modern-day business and leisure travelers such as our complimentary hot breakfast, indoor pool & jacuzzi, 24-hr fitness center, business facility and sundry shop, hosted bar hours,and over 1,000 square ft of boardroom & meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham State Arena Raleigh / Cary Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing