We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food on the expensive side, NOT so good service”

Zayka Indian Cuisine
Ranked #840 of 1,455 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Briercreek Parkway & Lumley Road
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food on the expensive side, NOT so good service”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I have been visited atleast 35 restaurants in and around Briar Creek. This is the first restaurant i have visited in my life where 15 minutes into dinner we hear background talking not so far away from us by the door where the kitchen is located. A smiling waiter then approaches us and says "We are going to close and are waiting to go home - we are only waiting for you please hurry up and eat". So while offended, we hurry up and eat while the waiter, the manager and the shefs begin to turn off the lights, and grab their belongings. I go to the restroom to wash my hands after eating the food. I walk out and all the lights are turned off, and some grumpy employees are standing the door.

A message for the restaurant - If you would like to close, please dont invite customers in just to collect their money and rush their dinner.

I will certainly not be going again. The good is tasty, but be weary of the service as they clearly dont care about the customer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    11
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best Indian food I've eaten”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Our hotel manager recommended this restaurant. He said he had been there twice. We loved our food. We chicken korma and chicken tikka. Both had an extra little zip that what we are used to. The naan was excellent. The menu has all the standard Indian restuarant items: korma, tikka and tandoori and some speciality items including goat and shrimp. We found the prices to be in keeping with what we pay at our local Indian restaurant.
Our server was a bit "formal" but not unfriendly. I suspect there is a slight language barrier. The service was slow but they were serving a very large group in the private dining room. They had a hard time getting to the rest of their customers.
The decor is low key but very nice. The bathrooms are very clean and well lit.
We will be going back when we go back to the area.
A minor note: the handicap parking is located on the edge of the section where the facility is. It is not the best location. Restaurants in strip malls such as this do not decide where the handicap parking is placed. I think there should be a place in front of every individual store but the ADA does not require it, thus handicap parking can be put in awkward places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Won't go again”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Food was very cheap quality and service is not good at all. They didn't even try to work with you to see if you are eating or not. Lunch buffet food was meant for people who don't know how Indian food tastes. Didn't go there again

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Variety on Buffett and very Tasty Food”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

It was wonderful and suggested by Days Inn Staff, where we stayed at. It is located at busy shopping center called Brier creek or something. Very Tasty food and variety of items on Buffett. Reasonable Price as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Go for dinner - Skip Lunch Buffet”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Any dinner I have had here has been awesome. The butter chicken, ginger chicken, and Tikki masala were lick your plate good.

It was really shocking how average the lunch buffet was. My advise is just to go in the evening and enjoy one of the great dishes off the menu.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoingGoingGone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zayka Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Zayka Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing