We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Raleigh

“Great concept”

The Kitchen Table at Relish
Ranked #591 of 1,691 Restaurants in Raleigh
Price range: $7 - $12
Description: The Kitchen Table is an expansion of Relish Craft Kitchen & Bourbon Bar conveniently located right next door. We open at 9am daily serving specialty coffees, overstuffed biscuit sandwiches, local craft beer, wines by the glass and bottle, and brunch cocktails. We are the first board game cafe in Raleigh with 250+ board games and game tenders to help you navigate the collection.
Restaurant details
Description: The Kitchen Table is an expansion of Relish Craft Kitchen & Bourbon Bar conveniently located right next door. We open at 9am daily serving specialty coffees, overstuffed biscuit sandwiches, local craft beer, wines by the glass and bottle, and brunch cocktails. We are the first board game cafe in Raleigh with 250+ board games and game tenders to help you navigate the collection.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is such a cute idea, I just wish the execution was better. The game selection is fantastic and the game tenders are very knowledgeable and fun. Even the rating system of the games is clever.

Too bad about the food and service. We waited 30 minutes for a table even though there were a number of empty tables that they never filled. Since we were hungry we ordered the biscuit butter and jam tray as an appetizer plus our meals. The biscuits didn't arrive for another 30 minutes, when our entrees were served. The shrimp and grits weren't even room temperature. We never send food back, but they were not edible. So they nuked the heck out of it and the whole thing separated with all the oil on top and rubber shrimp. We kept it, but it was really bad. Our waittress brought a cup of coffee (no cream or sugar) and never refilled it. I didn't realize how bad she was until I heard the waiter behind us offer options we never heard. The avocado smash biscuit was not very flavorful. The biscuits are just really dense.

We might go back to try a new game and hope things are better.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2019

We have now eaten dinner at The Kitchen Table several times, and it's become one of our favorite restaurants. We have always been fans of Relish next door, and we still like Relish, but we actually like The Kitchen Table even better! For me, Kitchen Table has a better menu. I am a "comfort food" lover, and The Kitchen Table menu is full of yummy Southern comfort food staples, like sweet potato biscuits, Kentucky Hot Brown sandwiches (improved from the original, because these ones are served on biscuits!), and even the yummy pimento cheese that I so love at Relish! We have never tried one thing at The Kitchen Table that wasn't absolutely delicious. The sweet potato biscuits are the best biscuits on the planet, whether you're eating them as the base of a sandwich or on their own. And the biscuits are big -- so if you order a sandwich, don't think you're going to get a little "Jimmy Dean" mini sandwich; no, these Kitchen Table biscuit sandwiches are big and very filling! But not so filling that I'd pass up a side of their tater tots. Did I mention that they have tater tots??? My favorite side! So crispy and delicious! And my husband thinks the biscuits and gravy at Kitchen Table are the best in the world. We're just working our way down the dinner menu, and we can't wait to try more things! Everything has been a hit so far!
One thing that was a little bit surprising was a dessert we ordered last time -- the bread pudding. I love bread pudding and was so excited to try theirs, since it's made with their heavenly sweet potato biscuits. I was very surprised that it was served cold (not even room temperature, but cold). Usually bread pudding is served warm, so it was a little bit off-putting to me to have cold bread pudding, but I will admit that it did have good flavor and was nice and moist, as bread pudding should be. Just a little bit strange to be eating it cold.
Service at Kitchen Table is outstanding. Super friendly and unpretentious, very accommodating of special requests, polite and courteous. We've never had anything other than exceptional service there.
While we love board games, we have never actually played one at Kitchen Table, as we've always come just to eat dinner. A very nice "game master" always stops at our table and never makes us feel uncomfortable or pressured when we let him know that we're just there to eat, not to play games. (Hopefully sometime we'll get a chance to play games there -- we love the idea!). If board games aren't your thing, don't let that stop you from coming. There are always some people in the restaurant playing games and many others just eating without playing games, like us.
Prices are extremely reasonable, and we love that the place serves dinner fairly late, as we tend to be late night eaters.
We are so happy that Kitchen Table opened! The menu is divine, the service is outstanding, the ambience is friendly and comfortable. We will keep coming back!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katsusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2019 via mobile

Keeping food menu aside which is slightly less but different than what you find in other places, place is well composed with indoor and outdoor seating. They do have a bar in case you wanna grab some drinks. Tried chicken pot pie, tartar grits, cheese grits, Dad’s sandwich and they are just awesome. The best part of this place is its huge gaming collection which you can just grab and play whichever game you are interested in.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank DandaN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2019 via mobile

This is the coolest idea for any group of people, from two and up. They have a wall of 300+ games, new and classic, and gametenders to recommend and explain games. They then come by the table to ask how you’re doing, if you have any questions, and to laugh along with the group. The food is Southern eclectic, with a wonderful choice of biscuit sandwiches and other dishes with a southern flare. Fresh and flavorful, really reasonably priced. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Will definitely be going back. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

This restaurant specializes in Biscuits, Brews, and Board Games. How fun. We ate outside and the "game steward" helped us pick out a game (over 300 games to choose from). The menu is small plates and I'm guessing Southern Style since most dishes have a biscuit. Great place for lunch, brunch, or even dinner.
Food is very very good, service is quick, staff is pleasant and you get to play games while you eat. Highly recommend and come hungry and come to play board games and sip beer or one of their specialty cocktails.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kitchen Table at Relish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing