We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this delicious landmark - especially when the HOT sign is on!”

Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
Ranked #2 of 32 Bakeries in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss this delicious landmark - especially when the HOT sign is on!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Don't go if you're calorie watching. Do go if you love hot melt in your mouth doughnuts! The coffee is delish, too. I typically buy it at the grocery store to grind at home. Only drawback is the seating area is very small - more for take out than sit in and eat. They also have a drive in window. They support students and give free doughnuts for good grades, too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soosun3916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Has the recipe changed?”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Has the recipe changed? I have to say this is the first time I have ever, not enjoyed a glazed KK. There's nothing that I can say that was specifically wrong, just that something wasn't right. Maybe I was tired, it was just after midnight after all.
I stopped for more, the next day, while driving through Winston-Salem. I had the same reaction, just not exactly like I remembered. Something was off, different? It's been about two years since I ate my last KK, and there was nothing unsettling about them, back then. Thoughts anyone?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
44 Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An original”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Best Krispy Kreme in the state. An original in the old part of town where you can see donuts being made right in front of you and get them hot off the press. Interesting donut making - baking and dipping equipment. Like a K.K. museum!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Krispy Kreme”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Krispy Kreme doughnuts are like heaven on earth. The Hot Doughnuts now sign calls to us every time we see it driving by. It is hard to explain the wonder of all things Krispy Kreme so I end up bringing all of our visitors there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing goodness!!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The best doughnut anywhere! First came as a child in the 60s...and still just as good!! KK will be packed...then you drive down the street to dunkin' donuts and they look like they need to join a lonely hearts club.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krispy Kreme Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Krispy Kreme Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing