We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Krispy Kreme Doughnuts
Ranked #2 of 33 Bakeries in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Wendell, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Best donuts in the world. I start everyday with a creme filled chocolate covered! Box by the dozen or maybe two so you can share with friends and family.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

i'm not going to bash this hallowed bakery, but when i moved into this region, one challenge i had was to find a good bakery. of course everyone pointed me to krispy kreme, and i was so excited to go there. but upon my visit to buy donuts, fritters, long johns, etc, i found only donuts, most of which were cake style. it's not the little family owned bakery i had hoped for, and none of their offerings looked appealing to me. but i knew i had to at least try the glazed donuts everyone raved about. to me, they're just ok. there's nothing special at all about them, and honestly they're no different than entenmanns at the grocery store. they all look so manufactured. sorry to say i was sadly disappointed, and still looking for a good bakery around here.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“A donut shop ranked #3 of all restaurants in Raleigh?”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Really.

A doughnut shop.

Ranked third of more than 600 places.

This is a perfect example of what is inherently wring with the TripAdvisor model of ranking establishments.

This is a fast food place. How can it possibly compare to a white linen, fine dining establishment?

It's an experience. Better to list it as an "attraction", really, because it's iconic.

It gets 3 of 3 stars in my book. There's nothing like a hot KK doughnut fresh off the line.

About my ratings:

Only fine dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food (no table service)

2) casual dining (table service)

3) fine dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, typically more expensive than casual dining)

Fine dining can earn a max of five stars. Casual dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“your dirty little 2AM caloric sin awaits”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

always open.......always delicious......always friendly. Jump off of Capital on Peace and take it towards the end. my mouth is watering just thinking about it

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tailsock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best donuts anywhere”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

You can watch the donuts being rolled out on the conveyor belt. Fresh, hot and yummy! Coffee fresh and hot as well. Cute hats for the kids and a great photo-op under the old time sign. A
must go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krispy Kreme Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Krispy Kreme Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing