We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very clean, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very clean, comfortable stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We really appreciated this hotel when we stayed here in June for two nights in the middle of a very long road trip.

The front desk staff was warm and friendly. They put thought into our room assignment and ensured we were in a low traffic area so as to not be disrupted. (I was suffering from terrible headaches at the time.)

The location is a bit removed, unless you're visiting nearby NC State University. Aside from the gas station across the street, there didn't seem to be much within walking distance. But there is a grocery store just a short drive away, and the lush, treed setting was very peaceful.

We are staying in Raleigh again at the end of the summer, this time for a week, and we didn't hesitate to re-book this property. We even requested the same room and were graciously accommodated.

Bonus: IT'S FULLY SMOKE-FREE AND DOGS ARE PERMITTED FOR A SMALL DAILY FEE.

Room Tip: The location is well removed from the highway, so I imagine all rooms would be equally quiet in that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
In our business the best compliment is a return guest. We appreciate this review and your valued business. We are thrilled you enjoyed your past stay and look forward to your future stay! I would love the opportunity to meet you personally when you return.

In hospitality,
Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    58
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
77
29
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The front desk worker, Sherrie is a kind, friendly person. She has addressed any and every issue I have had during my multiple visits for the past two years. Although I am not at home her kindness makes me feel as though I am walking through the front door of my own home. She is definitely a hard worker and makes the trip great!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
What a nice and thoughtful review! Sherrie is a jewel and we are so blessed to have her a part of our team. I look forward to sharing this thoughtful review with her. She will be delighted and encouraged to continue to be a leader in guest services.

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I chose this hotel for its proximity to the NC State University. It is in a quiet location despite being near route 40 and is next to a gas station (which I very much needed the next day). Check-in was fast and the front desk staff were nice. The room I was given was on the second floor, was clean and it had a microwave oven and a mini-fridge. The bed had firm and soft pillows which were labeled. My only gripe is that I did not see the 'Do not disturb' sign in the room and since it's already late at night did not bother to ask from the front desk hence the knocking on the door in the morning by housekeeping. The breakfast is more than adequate. The wifi and parking are free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We appreciate your business and hope you can come back soon!

All the best,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Grand Strand
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

It was our annual trip to Raleigh and the hotel we normally stay wasn't available. My job offered a discount at The Holiday Inn Express and we decided to go with them. The location is off of the expressway and the only thing within walking distance was a gas station.
THE GOOD: comfortable beds, microwave and small frig, pillow choice, breakfast, and staff.
THE BAD: a/c unit, no bathroom vent,
THE UGLY: the stained sofa bed *
I will say the hotel was clean and I would stay again but will check certain things before accepting a room.
* the staff removed the mattress and replaced it with a roll away and we were charged full price

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeCeeEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Your feedback is very much appreciated. Receiving feedback is an opportunity for us to correct the "wrongs" and improve the "good". I apologize your stay was less than perfect. I would certainly welcome an opportunity to discuss this with you more personally. I am glad to hear you would give us another try and I want your next stay to be perfect. My contact information is below and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
919-854-0001 or gormanexpress@aol.com
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We reserved a block of rooms here for my daughter's Raleigh wedding. It is extremely close to the Park Alumni Center on Centennial Campus, a popular reception and wedding site. From the very beginning, they were extremely easy to work with when setting up the block. We visited family during the stay and found the hotel to be extremely nice inside. We even had breakfast with family the day after the wedding and I'd have to say that their breakfast blows Hampton Inns' out of the water! Fresh scrambled eggs, sausage links and patties, and the coolest pancake machine I have ever seen. Our wedding visitors had nothing but good things to say about the hotel. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 978KenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
What an awesome review, thank you! Lifetime memories are made at weddings and we are glad to be a part of it. The opportunity to accommodate your family and loved ones during such a special event is greatly appreciated. The pancake machine is hands down my favorite.

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I was visiting a company located in the NC State campus and this property looked very convenient, with great reviews. I was very happy with the place. It was very new and impeccably clean. Breakfast was nice - very comparable to the Hampton Inns I usually try to stay in. Very close to route 40 and minutes away from any number of nice restaurants. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was quiet. There was a manager reception on Tuesday, with free beer and nachos/tacos. The front desk folks were most hospitable and seemed really happy to be doing their job and making the guests feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DECruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Your feedback is greatly appreciated! The Chinese philosopher, Confucius said, "Choose a job you love, and you will never work a day in your life." We pride ourselves on working with staff who love what they do. Thank you for taking notice.

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I met up with a faraway friend here on an overnight visit with our kids. We chose this property for ease of parking, the indoor pool and the rate. Property was very clean, and new looking. On check-in, we mentioned we were looking for family friendly activities. Both clerks were very helpful and gave us some visitor guides, as well as specific information my friend needed to find a certain type of store. This property was easy to find, convenient to gas, food, and shopping. Downtown Raleigh was not hard to get to from here either (with a car). The kids really enjoyed the pool, although it was a bit chilly to the adults. The hot tub made that better. There was not much lighting in the pool area after dark, only the underwater pool lights and some overflow light from the fitness area. It was not enough to make me feel unsafe in a group, but if I had been alone I would have felt a bit uneasy. The breakfast at this location was fabulous. BACON!!! :) Pancakes, yogurt, fruit, cinnamon rolls, oatmeal...we tried it all. The attendant was perfect, not hovering over us while we ate, but available when we had a question. The front desk staff at check out was also very friendly. I highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We appreciate your business and hope you got to enjoy Raleigh. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites near NC State University SW
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raleigh
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham State Arena Raleigh/Cary
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Cary
3.0 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#22 of 86 in Raleigh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Address: 3741 Thistledown Dr, Raleigh, NC 27606-4676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's property boasts an enjoyable country setting while being convenient to all the big city attractions and businesses. The Holiday Inn Express® Raleigh Southwest - NC State hotel is also proud to offer a 100% smoke-free facility and a location just off I-40 at exit 295. With quick access to such businesses as Siemens Training & Development Center, SAS and Cisco in the Raleigh area, our hotel offers corporate guests a quick commute to clients. We also make catching up with out-of-office work a breeze with complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, available throughout the hotel, and a Business Center that allows you to print, copy and fax. One of the best things about staying with us is that we're just a few miles from NC State. The hotel's accommodations provide a perfect location for Wolfpack fans and for those attending a concert or athletic event at the RBC Center or the Time Warner Cable Pavilion. Other area attractions include Lake Johnson Park and the North Carolina Museum of Art. Additional hotel amenities, like our indoor, heated swimming pool, whirlpool and Fitness Center, make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to fill up on sausage, bacon, eggs and our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary Express Start Breakfast while you watch one of the 52-inch cable TVs in the Great Room. We look forward to making our hotel your new home in Raleigh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At Nc State Sw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing