We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
Ranked #26 of 86 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First of all I would like to commend the Staff. Manager Milton is absolutely outstanding. I had some concerns about both my and family arrival times, I was flying in and they were driving, also accomodations. Left message Milton immediately called me back, helped me through the process and had rooms for us upon arrival. Milton was so wonderful and his Staff feels the same way. Bill was so wonderful in finding a place for me to eat, and the place he recommended served really good food. And I really enjoyed talking to him. Milton, Bill and Sherrie made us feel right at home. Breakfast was very good, rooms very clean, all staff were the Greatest. And yes if and when I return to Raleigh that is the place I would like to stay and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

I was always told that if you found a job you loved you would never work again. I find that so true. The staff and I find it so rewarding we can accommodate our guest’s needs. Your review will be discussed at our next meeting to encourage our staff to continue to do the little extras that makes a guest’s stay pleasant.

Thank you,

Milton Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 214 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We came in for the NC State Fair, and I thought that I'd booked for 2 nights, but I booked just one. They were sold-out. Milton Hamilton, the General Manager, found us a room at another Holiday Inn Express, for the same rate, booked it for us and then gave us directions. I was so impressed with him! He was polite, friendly and helpful! I will remember this hotel for the next time that I'm in Raleigh!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vict0ri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

David Thomas once said, "Unselfish and noble actions are the most radiant pages in the biography of souls." Thank you for such a kind and noble review. I trust you all enjoyed NC State Fair and we hope to see you back soon!

Kindest regards,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

This is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Most of the time you can find one thing to complain about but not at this one!! Everything was perfect the hotel is clean!! Breakfast was great, bed was great and room was spotless!!! Hats off to the Managment and staff and thank you for making us feel as if we were staying at a friends house!!!----Gary Lexington N.C.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank StrandedinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and this awesome review. One of the kindest things you can say to an hotelier is that we made you feel you were at home or at a friend's home. I am truly thankful for your review and hope we can accommodate you as such again soon!

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here on a trip to NC State. The room was fine, nice and quiet. Impressive considering a couple high school track teams were there with us. The breakfast was above average with hot eggs (fake, but still tasty), sausage.bacon, biscuits...and an automatic pancake maker! This price was a little on the high side but we didn't search online for the best deal (expense account anyway). We'd definitely stay here on our own dime with a slightly better rate.

Room Tip: The backside of the hotel faces a road but it's far enough away that car noise shouldn't be...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for this great review. Awesome to hear you had a quiet stay giving how busy we were. The pancake maker is definitely my favorite. Come stay with us again soon.

Cheers,

Milton Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We chose to stay here because it is dog friendly. It is in a convenient location in Raleigh and very clean. The bed is comfortable and the service seems very nice and willing to help. The only negative is the noise level- we stayed on the first floor and could hear basically everything going on in the hall. Otherwise, there is nothing wrong with this place at all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

So glad we could accommodate you and your dog and thank you for your kind comments. Let me know when you plan to stay with us next time so I can make sure you are in a quieter part of our property. We hope that next stay will be soon :)

See you soon,

Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

North Carolina is a great area. The kids are entertained, and there are many places to go for entertainment. It really depends where you go.
In general, it is a great place to explore. Plus there are tons of places you can explore (by walking distance) Your trip can also depend on who you bring, because some trips (people ammount) can affect what you do and how you enjoy your adventure.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaitie-lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Glad to hear you enjoyed our great state of North Carolina. There are certainly many things to do in this area. We hope you return soon so you can continue your exploration of our great state and the greater Raleigh area.

In hospitality,

Milton Hamilton
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for work and found it conveniently located off the I40 with access to all of Raleigh from Gorman Road. The staff was remarkably pleasant with the exception of one desk clerk that wasn't there very often. Housekeeping was probably the best I have ever encountered with their room cleanliness. I saw them on their hands and knees cleaning the carpet in one room. My door had an issue and the engineer was there fixing it within 5 minutes. Breakfast was always prompt and the hot coffee, 24 hours a day, was just great.

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor and it was still pleasant.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ind_sub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDUGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We appreciate our guest feedback! Your voice is what matters. Thank you for taking the time to voice your great remarks. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when you are back in the Great Raleigh area.

All the best,
Milton Hamilton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
3.0 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#19 of 86 in Raleigh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
2.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Raleigh NCSU - Convention Center
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW

Address: 3741 Thistledown Dr, Raleigh, NC 27606-4676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#19 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $123 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel's property boasts an enjoyable country setting while being convenient to all the big city attractions and businesses. The Holiday Inn Express® Raleigh Southwest - NC State hotel is also proud to offer a 100% smoke-free facility and a location just off I-40 at exit 295. With quick access to such businesses as Siemens Training & Development Center, SAS and Cisco in the Raleigh area, our hotel offers corporate guests a quick commute to clients. We also make catching up with out-of-office work a breeze with complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet access, available throughout the hotel, and a Business Center that allows you to print, copy and fax. One of the best things about staying with us is that we're just a few miles from NC State. The hotel's accommodations provide a perfect location for Wolfpack fans and for those attending a concert or athletic event at the RBC Center or the Time Warner Cable Pavilion. Other area attractions include Lake Johnson Park and the North Carolina Museum of Art. Additional hotel amenities, like our indoor, heated swimming pool, whirlpool and Fitness Center, make your stay more enjoyable. Be sure to fill up on sausage, bacon, eggs and our signature cinnamon rolls at the complimentary Express Start Breakfast while you watch one of the 52-inch cable TVs in the Great Room. We look forward to making our hotel your new home in Raleigh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at NC State SW reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites At Nc State Sw

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing