We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Italian in Raleigh!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gravy

Gravy
Reserve with OpenTable
Gravy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hargett
Transit: The R line stops around the corner on Hargett and South Wilmington.
Description: Ask any Italian-American what ‘gravy’ is, and they'll tell you it's the pasta sauce that their mothers and grandmothers cooked fresh every night. At Gravy Restaurant we take the same care, preparing our signature sauce every day using select tomatoes and locally grown herbs. The heart and soul poured into the preparation of traditional Italian-American dishes pairs with inspired modern twists and a focus on seasonal ingredients to define Gravy’s unique approach to this classic cuisine.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
300 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Raleigh!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We initially visited Gravy as a part of the 'Taste of Carolina' tour - which is a tour of 5 restaurants in downtown Raleigh. All of which source local, organic product. We had the meatballs and loved them! We also learned that nearly everything on the menu is made from scratch from local ingredients.

We had friends come into town and took them to Gravy for dinner. Everything was amazing! Our server was on top of things and very knowledgeable. We started with - shocker - the meatballs! They were once again top notch. I had a caesar salad as well and it was delicious. Three out of four of us ordered the 'Family Gravy' - which is a pasta dish with several types of sausage, meatballs, etc. This was one of the best Italian dishes I've ever had! Everyone loved it! The fourth ordered steak and had great things to say.

Overall, I love this place, will return and would definitely bring others!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    109
    34
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superior food and delightful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Earlier this month, I attended a conference in Raleigh and stayed at the Raleigh Sheraton. Groups of attendees were directed to sign up for any of a variety of group dining and networking options. Without immediate access to a menu at the moment, I narrowed the field (what cuisines do I not like? which were too far a schlep?) and picked Gravy. The next evening, when a dozen of us descended on Gravy, I wasn't sure what to expect, but I was thrilled with the evening.

Our server Stephanie was attentive and accommodating (but not obsequious), and the menu was stellar and offered a variety of options for the conference attendees, all of whom had one health concern in common, and many of whom had other unrelated dietary restrictions. Gravy tackled all the issues with aplomb. The portions were ample but not so large as though you would feel they were trying to wedge you into the seat; the variety of meal options was satisfactory for meat lovers and vegetarians alike. This was a glorious Italian meal, but authentic rather than overwrought Americanizing of Italian food. The desserts were heavenly. And the prices were shockingly reasonable.

It was a tad loud on this Saturday night, but not boisterously. The atmosphere was convivial, the food yummy, and the service cheerful and helpful. When we learned that our server's birthday was the next day, we liked her so much that we sang a rousing chorus of "Happy Birthday" and she seemed genuinely touched (and probably a tad embarrassed).

This would be a great place to dine if visiting town, or just for a romantic night out with your sweetie or a fun night with friends. Gravy gets my stamp of approval.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfOrganizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Home made pasta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I took my parents here for Mother's Day, becaause growing up my Italian grandma always called tomato sauce, gravy. The food and atmosphere here is very good. The staff is friendly and prompt. The food is fresh and delicious. We got garlic nots that were fresh and soft. The meatball appetizer was very good. Four meatballs in their gravy. Yummy! My father got the crostini, and that was the only dissapointment. The bread was like a rock. It could be cut with even a steak knife. The topping on it was delicous, but bread that hard is not appetizing. Scarpping the topping onto the garlic knots, was heaven! The home made gnocchi was fresh and delicous and the cream sauce was not too heavy. For dessert we had cannoli, which was a bit runny but you can tell it was made on-site and fresh. I would return again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLFriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“an excellent introduction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

A last minute search and decision to check out this place for lunch was quite positive. We went with a couple of salads and appies. The roasted beets salad was very nice but the arugula was the hands down favourite; considering it was very simply dressed with lemon and olive oil, the lemon was the perfect balance to the sharpness of the arugula and the sharp saltiness of the parmesan and the crunch of the almonds made this taste like "more". The baked egg was expected to be a coddled egg size but with 2 eggs and generous amounts of the other ingredients was too large for one person (and a bit too rich for 2 - half the size accompanied by an arugula salad would probably be fine). The calmari was breaded with parmesan and garlic and were the hands down best I have had (when not eaten with lashings of tsatsiki). They did not need the "gravy", and were a good mix of little legs, caps and rings. This is definitely on my list to try more items on the menu. Service was good and the rolls that came out were wonderful - warm, as light as a warm krispy kreme, and savory.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank magill1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great dinner events”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We recently went to a beer pairing dinner at Gravy. It was awesome and was in the brick wine cellar. Great atmosphere. The chef came down to describe the three courses. The brewery described each beer pairin. Just a great experience. They also host wine pairing dinners. Something for everyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gravy also viewed

 

Been to Gravy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing