We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best on rainy days”

Marbles Kids Museum
Ranked #4 of 146 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marbles Kids Museum is a hands-on, interactive destination that inspires children to be creative thinkers, active learners and confident individuals in today's world. With five galleries and two outdoor escapes, there is no shortage of activity for kids birth to 12 and their families. The campus also features the Wachovia IMAX Theatre at Marbles Kids Museum. This 267-seat giant-screen experience is the only 3D capable IMAX theatre in North Carolina.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best on rainy days”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We've visited multiple times and the hum of happy kids racing around is palpable on rainy days. While this can be overwhelming to parents and kids on such days, the benefits quickly out weigh the potential chaos. By comparison, on sunny days the place can feel rather subdued .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AHermes88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    193
    30
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bigger than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Convenient, colorful, interactive for all. Definite family environment! Nice place for kids afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeanutGallery1182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Even better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We've been to many children's museums, including The Strong National Museum of play in our hometown of Rochester, NY. So, we never know quite what to expect when we visit a new one.

When we first entered Marbles, we were wondering if it would hold much interest for our 7 year old daughter. The initial areas seemed too young. But, since our daughter loves animals, she had a great time with the vet and farm sections.

The upstairs was geared more towards older children. There were a lot of creative craft and art projects to do, as well as a lot of active sports-themed things. Our daughter enjoyed all of these areas a great deal.

Marbles ended up being even better than we had expected! We stayed there most of the day, save for lunch (which we had at the excellent Tir Na Nog Irish Pub, which was just a short walk walk away). Our daughter is already asking when we can go back to Marbles!

While visiting Marbles, we also saw a Lewis & Clark documentary at the IMAX theater. The theater was in excellent condition, and the screen and sound were great. (The documentary was quite interesting, as well. Even though we had previously watched it at home, seeing it on a huge screen really brought it to life.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Brought my 4 year old son as well and my 6 year old niece and it was a blast! They have stuff for the little ones as well as the older kids. We had a ton of fun.!My son's favorite part was the full size pirate ship! Tons of fun and so worth the trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nblissgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow, All Hands On!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a great place to take your children. I have never seen an interactive museum like this. There are many interaction themes, for example, you can learn about money by interacting and playing together at a store, learning to make change etc.

I just watched the children play and just have good clean fun with each other. All Hands On at this museum so much to play with and learn about.

The Gift Shop is really cool, you can find something for all ages.

Just Wonderful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marbles Kids Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing