We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent museum, and free, too!”

North Carolina Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 155 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore more than 14,000 years of North Carolina history, from the state's earliest inhabitants through the 20th century. The major exhibition The Story of North Carolina features fascinating artifacts, multimedia presentations, and an interactive format for all ages. Other exhibits highlight the state's military history, sports heroes, decorative arts and more. Monthly programs include children's programs, craft demonstrations and family events. The Museum Shop, featuring North Carolina crafts, and the on-site restaurant Pharaoh's at the Museum are open daily. Admission is free, although some special exhibits require a fee. Free parking is available on weekends in the Jones/Edenton Street lot. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I've never made a trip to the history museum that I did not enjoy. Festivals and other weekend functions often find side rooms full of children with make-it-and-take-it projects underway, hands-on history. One of the few museums that has a well-rounded take on the Indigenous population of North Carolina, from ancient times to modern. There is even information/displays about medicine, again from Indigenous NC to the present day.
Well worth the trip for all ages.

2  Thank RamblinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 542 of 713 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

We recently spent an afternoon in Raleigh, and one of our main objectives was to visit this museum, about which we had heard favorable comments. It was even better than we had heard! Not only was it very thorough, but the historical artifacts were also very artistically displayed. It was also immaculate, there were absolutely no typos (I was an editor for 30+ years!) and the front volunteer staff were quite capable and friendly. What a treasure this museum is!

1  Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCMuseumofHistory, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Wow! We appreciate your high praise! Our editors, curators, and front desk work hard and appreciate you taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Actually, we both really enjoyed the museum. We are from Georgia, so we learned a lot about NC history. My husband enjoyed the call to arms section and the Carbine Williams very much! I thought the soda shop recreation was really neat. A great way to spend an hour or two in Raleigh.

1  Thank Staci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCMuseumofHistory, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Glad you both had a good time! Thanks for your review and come on back next time you are in Raleigh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This museum was a lot of fun, I really enjoyed the war history section and the section with the recreated soda pop parlor, lots of cool stuff in there from that era its pretty crazy how much stuff has changed in that short amount of time. It was pretty cool how they had NC crops growing outside of the museum as well, including tobacco. Will definitely come back next time I'm in Raleigh.

1  Thank njsket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCMuseumofHistory, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the garden as well as the exhibits. Please come back and visit us again! Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

As two Brits staying in Raleigh we thought this was a great museum which also caters for many nationalities who come to see the museum, with many stories and tales of yesteryear.

Loved the original home that is in there and found the stories of wars, NC's origins and slavery fascinating - kept us occupied for a few hours!

Thank Sarah20x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCMuseumofHistory, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Glad you enjoyed the museum and hope you enjoyed Raleigh as well. Thanks for your review and your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing