We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History you don't find in a book”

North Carolina Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 155 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore more than 14,000 years of North Carolina history, from the state's earliest inhabitants through the 20th century. The major exhibition The Story of North Carolina features fascinating artifacts, multimedia presentations, and an interactive format for all ages. Other exhibits highlight the state's military history, sports heroes, decorative arts and more. Monthly programs include children's programs, craft demonstrations and family events. The Museum Shop, featuring North Carolina crafts, and the on-site restaurant Pharaoh's at the Museum are open daily. Admission is free, although some special exhibits require a fee. Free parking is available on weekends in the Jones/Edenton Street lot. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We enjoyed the civil war exhibit--truly provided a perspective we had not realized. We visited during the holidays and pretty much had the museum to ourselves. We loved the Story of North Carolina and the civil war art of Mort Kunstler--simply beautiful!

Thank PrincessofQuiteALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed the museum over the holidays. Saying that the museum contains history you won't find is a book is a high compliment indeed and we are very appreciative!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 577 of 712 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We enjoyed seeing our donated house (built around 1750) finally completed and on display. What a fabulous job they did in setting it up. Only wish we had had some recognition of our involvement.

1  Thank EDDY-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

As an English visitor from the UK, with Scots and Irish ancestors, it came as a surprise to see that so many of my 'kin' had played significant roles in the history of the area.

I learned something of the bloody struggles in your not-so-distant past and was moved by the plight of those bought or born into slavery.

So much more to discover but you have given me a start.

Thank b56c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks for your review! NC owes its character to all of the various groups that settled here. We love the traditions that the English and Scottish settlers brought over and glad that the museum reflects this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

As a Kentuckian native, I'm not up to par with NC history as much as I would like to be, so the experience at the North Carolina Museum of History opened up so much information to me! My husband had been there when he was younger, but as an adult, he was able to experience it in a more mature view. We watched videos of the history, experienced hands-on displays, and read so many informative plaques that I had left out of there with a wow expression. I would love to go back one day to go through it all over again because there's just so much to learn. I even enjoyed watching my husband "milk" the cow. That was priceless!

Thank TonyaJohnson316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for you kind review! The museum is a great place to get a crash course in NC history. So glad you and your husband enjoyed it and hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful museum! There were 4 adults and 7 children (7-16) in our party, and each and every one of us learned so many new things - from sports history to North Carolina's turbulent past. What a great way to spend a few hours; we'd love to go back!

Thank kleighfass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review! We really strive to have something to appeal to all ages and interests so it is great to hear that everyone found something they liked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing