We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Carolina Museum of History

North Carolina Museum of History
Ranked #5 of 144 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore more than 14,000 years of North Carolina history, from the state's earliest inhabitants through the 20th century. The major exhibition The Story of North Carolina features fascinating artifacts, multimedia presentations, and an interactive format for all ages. Other exhibits highlight the state's military history, sports heroes, decorative arts and more. Monthly programs include children's programs, craft demonstrations and family events. The Museum Shop, featuring North Carolina crafts, and the on-site restaurant Pharaoh's at the Museum are open daily. Admission is free, although some special exhibits require a fee. Free parking is available on weekends in the Jones/Edenton Street lot. Museum hours are Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday, noon to 5 p.m.
Sayre, PA
Level Contributor
306 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Impressive !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was a very interesting place and we thoroughly enjoyed walking around reading the information and looking at the displays. Great place and most importantly, it's free !

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2seniorcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thanks for your great review! We are proud that we are able to offer this great resource for free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    156
    31
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Take Your Kids Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a first-class museum. Exhibits are well-designed and interesting. Rotating exhibits are always compelling. Subject matter is wide enough to appeal to kids through adults. The NC at War exhibit is fantastic as is the History of North Carolina.

This museum should be packed every day. Take your kids or if you don't have kids, go yourself. Whichever, just go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your response! We have some great exhibits and programs for kids and the museum appreciates your endorsement!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed learning about NC history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This Museum is just wonderful! Every North Carolinian should take the time to explore this treasure. the different galleries are full of new and interesting exhibits. most have interactive and hands on to engage all ages and types of learners. Scout groups, home schoolers, families, educators and just about anyone will discover new and exciting facts about our wonderful state.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GirlScoutPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth your time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed my first visit to this museum. The amount of information, the quality of the exhibits, the signage and the atmosphere were all great. Some areas were under construction but there was still a lot to see and do. Will return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Civil War program going on now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I didn't have that much time, but did tour the top floor, where the Civil War is displayed. One piece what is on display, is the only Southern Flag to return from Picketts Charge at Gettysburg, all the other's were taken by the Union Troops. Also, a good number of weapons, uniforms and paintings.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred O, Public Relations Manager at North Carolina Museum of History, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are very proud of our extensive collection of Civil War artifacts and are so glad you got to check some of them out! Our permanent gallery of NC history on the first floor also has an extensive section on the Civil War as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina Museum of History also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina Museum of History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing