We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome atmosphere and great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Busy Bee Cafe

Busy Bee Cafe
Ranked #85 of 1,439 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
300 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Awesome atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were with a group and attended busy bee on a Sunday night. There were around 20 of us and the staff handled it great! The food at busy bee was surprisingly REALLY good, just a bit overpriced in my opinion. I had a super rare cask beer that was about 11% abv, so I only needed one - just one example of the unique beer menu at Busy Bee! I would definitely recommend Busy Bee!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    72
    22
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wendell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Amazing food and fun events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

They host a beer dinner every month or so and pair beer with 5 different courses. This is always amazing! Chef David is a rock star in the kitchen. Of course there core menu is good too. The tot burger is killer. Specials are always good. Shrimo and grits, wow! Can't go wrong here. When in Raleigh this is a must do!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DLFriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Food, Reasonable Prices, What a Beer Selection, Too Loud For Me!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our group went on a Saturday night to this very popular restaurant. The food was very good, my salmon and lentil entree was fantastic, although the hamburgers they had looked very tempting to me too. So many types of beers to choose from, I ended up with a Peoples Porter mainly because I love Porters and couldn't make my mind up given their huge selection. But man, it was loud in that restaurant. There was a party up in the loft, people standing and milling at the bar, we couldn't even hear people speak at our table. So be prepared for that if you go on a busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We went in for drinks after dinner and really enjoyed this place. Doesn't look like much from outside, but it is bright and fun inside. Creative cocktails too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beer house for eggheads”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I went for dinner, not primarily beer, and although Busy Bee does serve dinner, the menu of things-that-are-not-beer was pretty small, although eclectic. I got salmon and it was very good. Delicious, even.

Tip: If the room is not full, then sit at the bar, even if you are a table kind of person. The ground-floor room was rectangular, and, besides the bar, it was full of little rectangular tables that were not up to the standard of the salmon. In retrospect, it was the bar where the proprietor clearly directed his attention when designing the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amturnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Busy Bee Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing