We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try it, if the Flying Burrito is closed”
Review of Chubby's Tacos

Chubby's Tacos
Ranked #111 of 1,456 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Have you had a Chubby today? Chubby's Tacos is a taqueria style Mexican restaurant featuring authentic favorites with a few slightly north-of-the-border items thrown in. Everything is fresh! Enjoy the area's best and most unique salsa bar with Chubby's famous fried-in-house chips. And be comforted knowing that we serve only Certified Angus Beef with no Trans Fats and no MSG. Try us once and you too will be a Chubby Lover!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Try it, if the Flying Burrito is closed”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This place is trying to be the hip authentic Mexican place down the street, though isn't quite cutting it. It’s got a decent atmosphere inside, and even outdoor seating, though the food just is not that good.

I ordered a spicy beef burrito, which came with chips. Although it was a beef burrito, it was mostly beans. It had a bit of spice to it, though was not flavorful at all. It filled me up, though left me unsatisfied.

The best thing about this place is the salsa bar. Is that a reason to go, I don’t think so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IchBesorgeDasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, service not so much”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Loved loved loved the food at chubby's can't say enough about getting your money's worth and then some. The service left a little to be desired. One if the employees clocked in on her phone, refilled napkin holders on her phone, refilled chips on her phone. I was honestly surprised when she did something without it. SMH, but ignoring that fact and coming for great food at a great price in a relaxing atmosphete... Don't hesitate to come to chubby's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KhandiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Can Never Get Enough”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Chubby's is a standard go-to restaurant in this neck of the woods, especially for lunch. Their burritos are HUGE, so you really get your money's worth. Come very hungry or take half home for a next-day treat. If you do plan to visit over the lunch hour, be sure to time your trip so that you can arrive a bit early. There is always a line-- though it moves at a decent pace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thetravelingjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Burritos are awesome and hugh, salsa bar is a great with very eide variety, great place to go! Small space so seating is limited but u can eat outside.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Disappointed by last visit.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

2 of 3 stars (average, fast food).

(see explanation of ratings below)

Disappointed by last visit.

Ordered the baja tilapia and it was WAY too salty. All three of us tried it and all three of us gagged.

Took it back, told Andrew about the problem, and he just shrugged. "Sorry."

No "Let me get you a different taco." Or "can I give you a dessert on us?"

My wife was a big fan before this, but now she says "never again".

About $10 per person, no dessert, one drink included.

About my ratings:

Only fine dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual" (no table service).

2) casual dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20).

Fine dining can earn a max of five stars. Casual dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HomoQuiScitOmnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubby's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Chubby's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing