We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chubby's Tacos

Chubby's Tacos
Ranked #124 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Have you had a Chubby today? Chubby's Tacos is a taqueria style Mexican restaurant featuring authentic favorites with a few slightly north-of-the-border items thrown in. Everything is fresh! Enjoy the area's best and most unique salsa bar with Chubby's famous fried-in-house chips. And be comforted knowing that we serve only Certified Angus Beef with no Trans Fats and no MSG. Try us once and you too will be a Chubby Lover!
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Chubby's on Wycliff delivers consistently good food. The atmosphere is very casual and the service is good.

I usually order the fish or shrimp dishes, and my husband and friends like the beef and chicken tacos and burritos.

It's among the best Mexican food you'll find in the Raleigh area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I visited Chubby's on a Saturday afternoon and had a hard time getting a table. Luckily, the food comes out so fast that people weren't occupying tables too long. I thought the variety of tacos on the menu was great and noticed that they even have some creative vegetarian options We decided to go with a Baja Tilapia Taco (special of the day), Carnitas Taco, Grilled Chicken Taco, and Tinga Chimichanga. This was more than enough food for 2 people to share! The food was great, the salsa bar was great (some very interesting salsas), and the service was great. This is definitely a place to try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food, Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Our family enjoyed lunch at Chubby's yesterday. Chubby's offers a large variety of tacos and burritos. The food was delish! Everybody left happy and full.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctet0731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall with exceptional food”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

For a long time, Chubby's was Raleigh's best-kept secret. Not any more. Long lines are the norm at lunch and dinner. Be ready for it - it's worth the wait. The menu hangs above the counter where you place your order. After ordering, find your table and your food is brought to you. (Don't snag a table first - regulars will glare at you.) Whatever you order, it needs to be enhanced by one of their many house-made salsas located on the salsa bar in the back. Not because their food needs enhancement but because the salsas are a must-eat! The heat (spice) varies according to the heat of the peppers used when each salsa was prepared so expect the heat on your favorite to be different from time to time. The Spicy Tinga is a spiced chicken filling. It's excellent on the taco salad or the quesadilla. Check out their weekly specials. Any meat can be served your choice of ways. YUM!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaBlueMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Tacos in Raleigh!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is so good I don't crave tacos...I crave Chubby's tacos. Yummy and generous bits of meat wrapped up in the best soft corn tortillas I've had in a long time. Their daily specials are great too...usually some kind of burrito or sandwich and large enough to feed two people.The staff is always very friendly and fast. The place isn't fancy but it's always clean. Be sure to try the salsa bar...many choices for fresh salsa and I haven't had a bad one yet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chubby's Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Chubby's Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing