We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food - and a staff that knows how to listen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Remedy Diner

The Remedy Diner
Ranked #83 of 1,444 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
240 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - and a staff that knows how to listen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Like many places, the food is excellent. Like many places, the prices are very fair - actually rather inexpensive. Unlike many places, Remedy Diner has a staff that knows their vegan, gluten-free and other options - and are more than willing to customize a meal for a particular patron. There are nightly food & drink specials and a blackboard-full of seasonal drink specials. It's downtown, within walking distance of City Market, office buildings and the state museums.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    56
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best veggie restaurant around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Creative menu with delicious specials and the best cocktails around. Vegan items available. Never had a bad meal or bad service. Atmosphere is hippy and small. Not good for kids (thankfully) but has a great patio out back that is dog friendly.

Try brunch it's served on Saturdays and is fabulous

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Interesting food in a relatively small place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We heard of this restaurant because of the large number of vegetarian options and were not disappointed. Our waiter was attentive and very knowledgable of the menu and the various ingredients in the food. The food was well prepared and tasted great. Only concern was the size of the restaurant as it was rather small. We went on a Saturday evening and it was full and rather noisy. It was difficult for us to have a conversation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Two_from_NC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food in a cozy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a great little vegan restaurant in downtown Raleigh. Great location right on the corner close to other bars and restaurants. Small place with 3 booths, a couple of tables and 10 bar stools. Mostly sandwich menu with some other entrees. Lots of vegan type sandwiches, plus a few non-vegan items. Good, quick service type place with a funky vibe.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfer082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
306 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Delightful Raleigh Diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband, 20 year old son and I decided to try this downtown Raleigh restaurant as we were searching for a unique eatery in this city -- not the usual chains found in this capital city. Finding a restaurant that is comparable to what one would find in the foodie towns of nearby Durham, and Asheville is not easy. We found Remedy Diner to be a jewel in Raleigh.
Remedy Diner is not a big place. We were very fortunate to get the last table available for their Saturday brunch. If no tables are available, you have to wait outside on the sidewalk. A very happy employee greeted us and seated us near the windows. It gave us a nice view of the pedestrian traffic.
It took little time for a waitress to take care of our drinks and meals. The diner (do not think of a traditional diner as it is housed in a downtown building) is very accommodating to one’s diet. My son, who is on a low-carb diet, asked for a special breakfast. The waitress did not flinch at the special order and told him it would be no problem. The three of us started off with the flash-fried broccoli. This delicious vegetable appetizer is fried without the heavy bread coating that many restaurants put on their veggies. It was so good that my son wanted to go out and buy a deep fat fryer just to make his own broccoli! My husband ended up with their Breakfast Burrito -- scrambled eggs, refried beans and pepper jack cheese in a warm tortilla. The tasty burrito was topped with homemade pico de gallo, sour cream, and guacamole. I chose their black bean soup which was perfect for that cool Saturday afternoon. Since both my husband and I love grits, we ordered a small bowl of gouda grits. They were the creamiest grits I have ever had! And, they had lots of flavor due to the smoky cheese.
Our meals were washed down with some of Aviator Brewing’s Oktoberbeast. The local microbrewery’s beer was on tap thus my husband and I had two glasses each of this refreshing seasonal beer.
While this diner is billed as a vegetarian’s utopia, there are plenty of dishes that a carnivore can enjoy. My husband prefers meat, but found Remedy Diner to be a great place to have a non-carnivorous meal. The next time we are in Raleigh, we will head to 137 East Hargett Street for a great time and excellent food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MagyarNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Remedy Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Remedy Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing