We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art in NC”

North Carolina Museum of Art
Ranked #3 of 152 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the leading art museums in the American South, the North Carolina Museum of Art (NCMA) recently completed a major, three-year expansion that places it in the front ranks of museums nationwide. The NCMA offers a permanent collection spanning more than 5,000 years, a variety of celebrated exhibitions and public programs, an amphitheater for outdoor performances, and the nation’s largest museum park—164 acres of trails and parkland containing major works of art.
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Art in NC”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

A very diverse, small and manageable regional art gallery. Some great pieces especially the Rodin. Very handy to airport for a detour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mal1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,014
    344
    42
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Jewel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Just a wonderful experience. We had a couple of hours to kill, but this turned into most of a day. Lovely collection of old masters, some interesting modern art, but the highlight was the Rodin collection, one of the largest I have ever seen. Also terrific was the garden walk, where in about a 2 mile path, one could encounter about a dozen fabulous outdoor installations. Finally, there is a unique and outstandling Judaica collection, which we found with the help of the docents.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryfromChevyChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
655 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“LOVED the art walk”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I dragged my friend (who wanted to keep sleeping) down to the outside art walk (the actual museum was closed). It was amazing. Spectacular art along trails that sparked loads of conversation about imagination and art. You can stay on paved trails or venture out into the gravel/dirt trails. Make sure you do both- it's an important part of the experience and the only way to see The Cloud Chamber for trees and sky. Which is an incredible multisensory experience. We walked in the shade as well as the sun so make sure you bring a hat and wear sunscreen. We were walking fast (to get exercise) and even with looking at the art it took around 90 min.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen78703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arden, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Collection!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The art museum offers a variety of quality art pieces from various time periods. In addition to the museum buildings, there are several art pieces located on the trails on the land outside the museum. If you want to find out more about the artwork outside, there is a cell phone tour. I had so many favorite pieces that I can't choose just one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We expected a stodgy typically southern museum but the setting is amazing and the exhibits were beautifully presented. We'll keep updated with the Museum newsletter for future events.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank nsmartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Carolina Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing