We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff - great; not much to see”

North Carolina State Capitol
Ranked #20 of 146 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The State Capitol building, built in 1840, is an excellent example of a civic structure in Greek Revival-style architecture. Though recently renovated, the building does contain some original furniture.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Staff - great; not much to see”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Staff members were wonderful and gave me a printed self-guided tour. (You can also have an audio tour for $5.) Since the legislators moved to a new building in the sixties, only the Governor and staff are in the building. You can view the Senate and House chambers, and the entire tour should take about 45 minutes. Highlights include the library and the outdoor statues.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    102
    38
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CHAPEL HILL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Learning About NC History”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The State Capitol building is an interesting place to learn some about NC political history and see the various rooms of the building as they were preserved.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HinarP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“NC Capitol”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great doors for entry, beautiful display of US Armed Forces flags. Historical accounts of the history of North Carolina. Guard in the door swiftly asked me, "May I help you ma'am?" when I opened door.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCPB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Our state capitol”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Very pretty grounds, nice to stroll around the capitol building on our day trips to Raleigh. Always enjoy the building and the surroundings.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Pretty area”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I love the park that surrounds the capital-always pretty and well kept, and generally free of homeless people. I like to sit here and read some days before going into work.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pubnknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Carolina State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to North Carolina State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing