We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet place”

JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University
Ranked #7 of 151 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the North Carolina State University, this eight-acre garden contains a wide variety of cold hardy temperate zone plants.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice walkways, flowers obviously prettier in spring and summer, but still interesting plants, a very interesting looking restroom, Japanese garden, and wall of water. Will go back in the Spring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCBuckeye10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    69
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level Contributor
814 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Nice place to stroll”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a free arboretum and a lovely place to stroll. The rose garden, weeping trees,winding wisteria trees near italian sculpture area,butterfly garden, etc. are all lovely. For serenity and photography, this is the place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MIAMISHEILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A jewel in Raleigh”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The JC Raulston Arboretum is one of if not the best free outings in Raleigh. It is a must see when we have out of town guests. There is something always in bloom every month of the year. The new shade garden is fantastic. My favorite though is the perennial beds. I make it a point to tour the Arboretum a least 4 times a year whether we have guest or not.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a great visit”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were able to wander about at our own pace and really appreciated the tags identifying most plants and the signs with more detail. My only saddness was that the season was not more colorful. I think spring and summer would be perfect!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mirdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I went here on a Sunday afternoon, and had a great time walking around, enjoying the beautiful trees and plants. I especially enjoyed the Myrtle trees, and the Japanese Garden. Great place to detach and reconnect with nature.

Helpful?
Thank StevenMiamiFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University also viewed

 

Been to JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing