We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University
Ranked #7 of 151 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the North Carolina State University, this eight-acre garden contains a wide variety of cold hardy temperate zone plants.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great place for a picnic, collect your thoughts or simply enjoy the plantings. Have taken my children there for years. Hidden gem right inside the Capital city.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    69
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Arboretum is beautiful; great for photographers, and anyone looking for a nice place to relax or read a good book.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsBunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must for gardeners”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We always check out this garden when we are in Raleigh. The borders have been outstanding for a long time, and the renovations are looking good. You can be inspired by both the plants and the plantings. Note: no pets.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jean9Sylva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NC State's gift to Raleigh”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Est. as part of the university, but this free public arboretum is a treat for locals and visitors. Guided tours on the weekends. Local, native plants together with sections testing new cultivars, etc. Great venue for weddings. Handicapped accessible, free parking, etc make it good for everyone.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank SusanRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A lovely place to enjoy the beauty of a spectacular garden!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We first visited JCRA about twenty years ago, and have returned often. Located just off the Beltline (I-440) at Hillsborough St., it is a convenient stop. Whether you have an hour or a day to meander through the collection, it is a worthwhile stop.

When we were selecting plants for our new home 14 years ago, we spent time studying the specimens of almost everything that grows in the Raleigh area. It was wonderful seeing what the tiny plants we were considering putting in our yard might look like in five or ten years or more. It is important to understand how much space a plant will need as it grows and what kind of light and moisture is required for it to thrive.

This garden gave us many useful ideas about fantastic plants that can survive our climate. Today our yard looks outstanding full of healthy plants that have thrived on site. We also have relied heavily on a book called The Carolinas Gardener's Guide by Bost and Wilson.

This arboretum has been a training ground for many students in the landscape design programs at NC State and is quite active in serving the gardening community. Our landscaper (a grad of this program), Uli Gratzl, recommends this garden for checking out grown plants.

Select a cool morning or sunny later afternoon for a long walk through the arboretum, and take something for recording notes and photos of plants you will want at home. This is a wonderful place for the kids to experience plants in nature. And of course the elderly enjoy seeing healthy plants as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bagsalwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University also viewed

 

Been to JC Raulston Arboretum at NC State University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing