We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Trails”
Review of Umstead State Park

Umstead State Park
Ranked #6 of 150 things to do in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandwiched between downtown Raleigh and the airport, this oasis of green features a stand of 300+ year-old hardwood trees, more than 32 miles of hiking, biking and horseback riding trails, camp sites and lots more for nature lovers.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trails”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a great place to take a family hike. We like to park at the entrance off Harrison Avenue and hike down to the creek. The park is always full of folks on bikes and runners who want to challenge themselves on the trails.

I also camped at Umstead several years ago and was very happy with the facilities. This is a great little treasure in the middle of the Triangle.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jchamber73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    108
    17
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great park, but there are so many here”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This park is excellent. The only reason I'm rating it only very good is because it's not better than any other wilderness area surrounding the Triangle area. I'm staying just North of Falls of Neuse, and a few minutes jog and I'm in a forest and lake just as interesting as Umstead's.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mountaindolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great trails for hiking”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we head to Umstead when we want want easy/short hikes with the kids and just to get out and away from the house.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice park”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a really cool place so close to downtown Raleigh. Miles of well maintained, well-marked trails for hiking, biking, or horseback riding. It is only about 10 minutes from downtown Raleigh. Stop at ranger station and they will provide you with a map, and trails are well-marked to help you stay on the one you want to be on.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DianaBWakeForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“History”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I liked seeing the old CCC cabins, trails and lake. I have a friend whose uncle was in the CCC. It made me want to learn more about the history of this park. Very peaceful!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Umstead State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing