We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ritz in Name”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Beds were not as comfortable as expected. Staff was friendly mostly. Security staff is over the top ther are over zeolus. Food was very good. I have stayed at Ritz Carltons in many places this is not in the top half.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 791 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

I was extremely impressed by the staff's willingness to help me out. I wanted to avoid checking my luggage, but had received a gift that exceeded the liquid allowance. I asked the front desk if they could help. They were friendly and had a can do attitude.

We looked up US postal service rates for shipping online and one of the staff volunteered to personally mail the gift to my residence. She did this in her personal time and I received the gift shortly thereafter.

The Marriott was also in a great location - walkable to many downtown sites and restaurants. It was also clean and newly renovated. This service was truly exceptional and I'd highly recommend this Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Loved this hotel great location and had an incredible view of Raleigh. Within walking distance of shops and great restaurants great rate had no complaints. I loved this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yours66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

This Marriott suited our purpose in that it was on our way down south to visit our grandkids and the location suited where we wanted to be - being in town wasn't such a bad thing and actually there was an outside ice skating rink which was nice and also walking through town w/decorations for the holidays which put us in the holiday season. Only downside was the breakfast room service which, although it came on time, it was ice cold. Room was spacious but bathroom was a bit small for such a large hotel. Overall, hotel was fine for what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sthomas0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I stayed with my family recently (with two young children, ages 3 and 6) in this hotel for a brief getaway, had a free Marriott Rewards night to burn and thought it would be fun to stay downtown. We had a great time with the location, the hotel is located at the Convention Center within easy walking distance of several restaurants and right across the street from the AT&T Winterfest Outdoor Ice Skating rink (and a Krispy Kreme!). There is quite a bit to do in the area, with museums, restaurants and the concert hall. The hotel lobby is quite nice and open (with a Starbucks in the lobby and a very nice Christmas tree in December) and so is the bar/restaurant, and the hotel was very clean. However, the pool was extremely cold (too cold to use, probably 60 degrees), the room with two beds only had doubles (too small), and the noise from the hall was quite loud. Overall, a great location and clean hotel, but it was lacking in a few key areas for family travel.

Pros: Great location for restaurants and events, clean, modern rooms.
Cons: Double beds, poor noise insulation to hallway, very cold pool temperature.
Tips: There is free parking nights/weekends in many downtown decks within 1-2 blocks of this hotel, even when events are going on at the concert hall, if you don't want to pay $12 for valet parking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoontaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I booked a room at this hotel for a date night and had a fantastic experience. The staff was wonderful and the suite I stayed in was beautifully appointed. Even though I live in Raleigh, I felt like I was on vacation. We ate in the lounge area and enjoyed a couple of cocktails and didn't feel the need to leave the property at all. Everything we could have wanted was right there. The food was fantastic and service was wonderful. I will definitely excape to this lovely new hotel again. It's in the heart of downtown and has easy access to nightlife, great restaurants, and more. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away for the evening without having to worry about driving anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisathomasdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

This is a convention hotel, that should always be the first tip off. This convention hotel truely represents the underbelly of the nomenclature and is one of the worst excuses of a hotel I have ever endured. A convention hotel in a moderate to large city will 90% of the time always have almost full occupancy, especially when you have such an incredible convention center as the one in Raliegh, really amazing. So, by being part of the convention center and always being full, the customer service and cleanliness are the first things to go.....seen it a million times. This place is no exception. The staff is completely unconcerned with not only simple guest requests, but also addressing more important matters such as soiled bed linen in a "clean room", greasy smudges all over the windows that never got cleaned after 2 requests and odd and extraneous internet charges when I didn't have a computer in the room. Just terrible. Couldn't wait to leave the place. Do yourself a favor and check out other hotels in the area, the city is charming to walk through and is small enough to do so if you are working a convention.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chamsachamsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.4 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#32 of 87 in Raleigh
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
4.4 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $190 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in the vibrancy of Raleigh Marriott City Center. Our downtown hotel is connected to the Raleigh Convention Center and features easy access to local hot spots and important destinations. Catch a professional hockey or basketball game at PNC Arena, play with the family at Marbles Kids Museum or attend a live concert at Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. Retire after a busy day to your room or suite with stylish decor and comfortable thick mattresses. Our accommodations effortlessly exceed your needs with high-speed Wi-Fi and flat-panel TVs featuring premium channels. Satiate your hunger at Rye Bar and Southern Kitchen. Our popular restaurant and bar are the perfect spot for enjoying breakfast, lunch and dinner. We also feature an on-site Starbucks® for your convenience. Enjoy a swim in our indoor pool featuring scenic views of the city. You can also work out in our fitness center featuring well-managed equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing