We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel; Unwelcoming Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the hotel during the holidays on our way up from Florida to New York. The hotel is new and clean and very well appointed. We had a terrific dinner in the restaurant (not part of Marriott, but licensed out to an outside vendor) and the pool and gym were really first rate. The only thing that would prevent me from returning was the help (or lack of it) we received from the front desk. We asked repeatedly for a quiet room and one without an adjoining room, but were offered 3 rooms: one by an elevator, the second over a construction site and the third with an adjoining room. It was obvious to me that the hotel was relatively empty and although I asked again for another room, I was told that these were the only rooms available. I did not find this to be believable... and although the room by the elevator did not bother us in the end, I could not understand why the front desk was not more accommodating.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SueSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 771 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

We booked this brand new hotel in the summer since it was to be the host hotel for the City of Oaks Marathon which a group of us were coming to run in. The hotel is beautiful, but it is only near the convention center and seems to be planning to live off of that business. It did not have the personal touch that comes from having management in tune with what is happening. On the weekends there is no one downtown and most stores/restaurants nearby were closed early on Saturday night. When we wanted to buy something not in their store they recommended that we walk to a bodega type store/barber shop a few blocks away which had hair gel and all sorts of odd items, but no muffins or bagels for the am which was needed since there were no arrangements for an early breakfast even though about a quarter of the hotel guests were running the race.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank goskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

What a wonderful stay. Our room had a very comfortable bed, flatscreen HDTV, marble bath, rainfall showerhead, lots of lighting, coffee/tea maker, and an great view of the city. We also had a mini fridge, although I don't know if that's standard. The fitness center is the best I've ever seen at a hotel. The indoor pool and spa are adjacent to the fitness center. The Tuscan restaurant had top-notch service and delicious food and was a bit pricey but worth the indulgence. A Starbucks is in the lobby along with a gift shop and a business center. The hotel is convenient to the convention center, cultural arts center, and anything downtown. It'd be a great place to stay for a convention. We stayed here with our Marriott points and were suprised it required so few points (typically the point level of a Fairfield or maybe a Residence Inn).

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank librarian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We waited until the last minute to book this hotel and paid the price at $237 per night. When we called we were told that if we waited to book the room until we arrived a few minutes later that the hotel was empty and we could probably get a discount. Upon arrival we felt treated a little bruskly and no discount was forthcoming. The weather looked like it would be bad so we decided to spring for the extra cost and stay in a nice hotel in the city. This hotel is new and spotless. It has one of the best gyms you will ever find in a hotel...the pool was large and indoors. Ate dinner at the in house restaurant , Posta. It too was pricey. Dinner was great! We had wild halibut on a bed of rice and a great Osso Buco. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2008

This is a brand new Marriott adjacent to the sparkling and gorgeous brand-new Raleigh Convention Center. It is excellent for business travellers, as all of Raleigh's business district is within a nice walk. But it's also excellent for the leisure traveller as well, being walking distance to great restaurants, bars, museums and the fantastic performing arts center. Highly recommended as a very central place to stay in the beautiful city of Raleigh.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mikeynla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tatiana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank 2brunox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#35 of 87 in Raleigh
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Raleigh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
4.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville St, Raleigh, NC 27601-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $209 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing