We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marriott Raleigh NC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
York, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Marriott Raleigh NC”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This Marriott is attached to the Convention Center in downtown Raleigh, NC. It is a lovely hotel. Most all amenities are provided and the breakfast is great. The only thing I found missing was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. This seemed odd considering the clock next to the bed was equipped to play a nano or iPod! Usually this is not provided and the mirror is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverskdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks very much for your review! You are correct, none of the Raleigh Marriott City Center's guest rooms are equipped with makeup mirrors. Several years ago this was something that started appearing in guest rooms in upscale hotels. To my knowledge it was never a component of Marriott guest room's package. Marriott is currently developing the "Room of the Future". We will all learn what the world's leading hotel brand considers relevant to the next generation of travelers.

Thanks again for your contribution.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    258
    94
    32
    30
See reviews for
122
132
32
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Overall, this hotel was pretty nice. here for a business seminar and only stayed one night but I was very pleased with the service and accommodations. If you order room service for dinner, expect a very high bill!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keebs628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for your great review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. We are disappointed that you were only able to stay one night in our wonderful city but delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Our team has been proud to serve and represent Raleigh for over five years!

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
188 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located in downtown Raleigh near all the restaurants and clubs. The check-in was extremely fast and courteous, as was check-out. The room was large and comfortable. The decor is traditional, nothing modern here, but the bed provided a good night's sleep. The Starbucks in the lobby was nice to have. The TV good. There's an indoor pool and rather small gym. The elevators were fast. It is a far cry better than the other chain hotel next door, which I stayed at 2 years ago and regretted. No regrets with the Marriott, actually.

My complaints would be with the guests. Downtown Raleigh is a magnet for folk from the countryside coming to the "city" for a "wild time". Also, there are lots of families with children that keep the pool full on weekends. The family next to me was noisy at times with the room's heavy doors slamming all the time (but not at night when they were asleep). The furniture had some shoe scuffs on it and didn't make me want to use it, and the desk chair was wobbly. I blame the wild guests for these kinds of things.

Perhaps the weekdays when the hotel is full of business people, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center! We appreciate your posting!

The team does its best to serve all of our guests. Typically, weekdays the hotel hosts business and convention guests. On weekends our guests are leisure travelers or frequently wedding attendees. We are proud to serve all of the visitors to Raleigh!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The VIP Concierge was top notch, the bistro sufficient for drinks or an appetizer before going out on the town. The best part is the location. Staying here makes nearly everything in downtown Raleigh within reasonable walking distance. There was some serious construction going on which impacted the view a bit across the street but I can hardly fault the hotel. Parking was decent. The bag drop was congested and a bit small, understandable for a downtown location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your great review of our hotel. Raleigh is becoming a great regional destination for music and the arts. There is a myriad of cultural venues within walking distance of the hotel.

The city leadership should be commended for fostering the economic renaissance of downtown. It has become a great place to Live, Work and Play!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This old school conference hotel is set-up on the mall-bridge like end of Fayetteville St in Downtown Raleigh. A very festive place! (Check out the picture of the peddling bar on this street).We came around check-in time and it was buzzing with activity but very quick and efficient. Rooms were nice but my bed was not great as it was a bit sunk-in. Nice duvet. The lobby has a Starbucks and gift shop plus a Tuscan-California-Carolina inspired restaurant (I’ll review the food under the restaurant name Posta Tuscan Grille). We enjoyed a late dinner and then met our friends in the lobby bar. The lobby bar is attached to the restaurant and it was like a frat party after 10:30PM. Just Super! Lots of folks having fun. The weird part of this lobby-bar-Tuscan inspired restaurant is they play very loud oldies from the 50’s-60’s and early 70’s. I asked servers why non-stop oldies and they told me the hotel manager loves this music and apparently insists on it being played all the time. I felt like we were at a Carolina Beach party or surrounded by “Lake People” after a winning football game. Meanwhile, Valet service is very good. $22 bucks a day and well worth it. Bellman was very attentive and professional. Breakfast server was bubbly. Get Wifi in the lobby with your contact info given…BUT, it is $9.95 a day for Wifi in your room. Really? That seems like an outdated program that Marriott needs to re-think. All-in-all…pretty good choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatyahave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center! Our bar is very popular with both hotel guests and locals after concerts and shows downtown.

Unfortunately, our music selections are fairly limited but we certainly appreciate your feedback and will review our selections again!

Best regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I have stayed at two different Marriotts in the Raleigh, NC location this summer on a Saturday night; NOT GOOD; not either location. The hotels are beautiful and nice and really customer service friendly but...BUT....you never want to stay at this type Hotel on Saturday night because of the events going on. If you are part of the wedding party or conference then you would be great (unless you want sleep). These hotels book conferences and wedding parties on the weekends and for some reason Saturday night is party night; let's slam doors all night and see how loud we can be. I have stayed at the Downtown Marriott and at the Airport Marriott at Research Triangle Park; both were awful if you wanted a good night's sleep...LOUD. My last stay was at a Hampton and guess what? Saturday night was perfect there because they didn't have a large ballroom to attract the parties!
My largest complaint with the Marriotts is that they didn't reserve the club level floor for nonparties and for their guests that stay with them 50 or more nights a year; come on Marriott...remember who supports you ALL year and just not one or two nights a year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisinbellwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Weekends can be very busy at our hotel location. And yes, most weekends we have several parties in at one time.

The hotel does its best to accommodate all of our Elite Rewards members at all times. Frequently, weekends are busier that weeknights.

Please let me know the next time you wish to travel to Raleigh and I will be sure to arrange your accommodations personally.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is exactly what I like when I'm on a business trip: it is new or newly remodeled, the room is spotless clean and comfortable, the staff is friendly and very helpful. Moreover, some nice restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annina_q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. The hotel just celebrated it's 5th Anniversary of operation. So "new" is a relative term. We pride ourselves on staying spotlessly clean and fresh for our guests. Raleigh's downtown is emerging as a great regional destination for restaurants, museums and nightlife. It is an exciting time for our city and we are delighted that you enjoyed your last stay.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#40 of 84 in Raleigh
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.6 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#27 of 84 in Raleigh
130 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Property: Raleigh Marriott City Center
Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing