We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay downtown Raleigh.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very convienent to all the activities of the downtown area. Nice fitness area but it was cold in there both days I was there. The executive lounge was very nice, the resturant staff and food was above average but I would recommend eating out. Upon checkout they realized they have given my rental to someone else so I had to wait until the other person could bring it back, luckily they were only 20 minutes away.- they did apoligize.

Room Tip: Don;t get near an elevator-it's a busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thanks for your review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. We appreciate you taking time to post comments regarding your stay. Please join us again on your next trip to Raleigh.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 776 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at this Marriott and thought that it was very overpriced. I visit Raleigh frequently and decided that it is not worth it to say there any more. You have to pay for internet and parking, both of which are very expensive. There is no fridge and microwave in the room. There are better upscale hotel options in the city where you can get free internet, breakfast, parking, fridge, and microwave at a much lower rate. The nice thing is that it is right downtown. Also, everything was clean.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daughterd9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay. Unfortunately, Marriott Hotels still charge for guest room internet. I believe that we will see this change in the near term with a reduced bandwidth option available for a reduced price point. Additionally, the Raleigh Marriott City Center now has free WIFI in the lobby for guest use.

I don't think that the hotel will be installing refrigerators soon. we do have fifty refrigerators that we can place in guest rooms upon request at no charge.

Again, thanks for your posting. We certainly appreciate your feedback.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family and I came down to Raleigh for the long July 4th weekend and we were not disappointed by our stay here at the Marriott. We were able to walk right out of our hotel and right into the street festival going on. We were even able to see the fireworks from our hotel room. There are plenty of good restaurants just a short walk from the hotel.
The hotel itself was nice, clean, and spacious. The rooms were sleek and modern while being comfortable for my family.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with any request or question we had. The hotel manager even went out of his way to tell us to stay cool with our infant son in the hot July 4th sun.
I had no problems and would definitely stay there again the next time I needed to stay in Raleigh.
One caveat: The cost of the room we had was discounted for the July4th celebration. The non-event discount rate was significantly higher.

Room Tip: The higher floors offered a quiet space from the street festival down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK3674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your visit for the July 4th fireworks. Our hotel sits adjacent to the City Plaza. Most all festivals in Raleigh are centered at the City Plaza which is literally outside our front door. High floor assignments are helpful on those occasions as they provide a quieter setting.

Raleigh is a super town to live, work and play!

Thanks for your contribution!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was very pleased with this hotel in the city center. You are within walking distance to many restaurants, bars, shops, and museums. The hotel is very clean. Staff were all nice. Has a bar/restaurant that is very good. The decor/finishes were nice. Room was very nice. There is a lounge on the 16th floor that serves breakfast until 10am each day. Rates were decent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

We certainly thank you for your great review! Cleanliness is a vital part of our business. Our housekeeping team is among the very best in the business. Our service, location, facilities and amenities are also keys to our success at the Raleigh Marriott City Center.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed her because we went to a concert at The Red Hat , The hotel was okay very over price breakfast, I have an rewards member no perks Here I am also a Hilton honors member I am treated like a royal, They have so member freebies at the Hilton. Here at the Marriott The breakfast, continental started at $14.00 ,,, Which I was a bit shocked. I had to get the comforted changed the linen was water. They came right away.to change it. I will continue to stay at the Hilton, .. The Marriott is not to my liking!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prettylady27610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for your review. We appreciate all feedback including this posting. We will use it as we shape our guest offerings moving forward.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The only good staff there are hotel's location and people serving breakfast. The overall level of service is pretty low, unfortunately. They definitely need more training for the hotel's employees. In addition, if Mariott is a chain(?), then you suppose to expect the same level of service at any of their spots...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank SVG2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I apologize that you were not impressed by our service delivery. We take great pride in guest satisfaction at the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Besides our great location and facility it truly is what we are about. Most guests have a vastly different experience. Negative feedback is needed to improve and we certainly still appreciate your contribution.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Perfect stay. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Raleigh.
Walking distance to GREAT restaurants and events.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

The breakfast buffett Sunday AM, was surprisingly awesome. Egg white omelets made to order, tasty fresh fruit...YUMMY if surprising.

Highly recommended for anyone attending event downtown: Redhat, Duke Energy Center, Convention Center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Wow- perfect! Thanks so much for your posting! Our restaurant - Posta Tuscan Grille is very highly regarded by our Marriott guests. Our Chef, Joseph Durante, has taken our culinary program to new heights!

Thanks again for your review! We appreciate your feedback.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.4 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#33 of 87 in Raleigh
119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
5.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $189 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a successful and enjoyable stay in Raleigh, North Carolina at Raleigh Marriott City Center. Conveniently connected to the Raleigh Convention Center, our hotel in downtown Raleigh offers the opportunity to discover an area filled with vibrant destinations. Historic Oakwood is close to our hotel, as are top attractions including PNC Arena, Marbles Kids Museum and Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing