We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient to Convention Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you are going to the Raleigh Convention Center or to Maymandi Concert Hall, this hotel is is a perfect location.

It is a fairly average Marriott--there are many much nicer Marriott hotels in the world, but as would be expected from this brand, the hotel is a safe and decently clean place to stay.

That being said, our room was clean, but a little short on the housekeeping details: the toilet paper roll was almost empty when we checked in (there was a spare roll left by the toilet that we had to change ourselves), the complimentary bottle of water had already been opened, and the already chintzy complimentary in room tea "assortment" of two tea bags had one tea bag missing from the cardboard pouch.

The hotel doesn't have many elevators, and on the weekend that we stayed was full of kids and families attending weddings, beauty pageants and convention center activities. Since the concierge lounge closes at noon on Fridays, there wasn't anywhere in the hotel to get peace and quiet other than in our room.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are attending an event at the convention center or have business downtown. It is definitely not a great place for a romantic getaway, but is a decent and safe hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Housekeeping disappoints me missing the details that you mentioned. Most posts discuss our cleanliness. I have copied our housekeeping leadership team on your issues to improve their scrutiny.

We appreciate your feedback!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (776)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 776 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Visited Raleigh for a personal event and stayed at the City Center Marriott. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the hotel is within walking distance of everything in downtown Raleigh. There is a Starbucks located in the Marriott and it was very convenient to get a good cup of coffee on our way out in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastal4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are proud to be able to serve you!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We travelled to Raleigh for a concert. we chose the Marriott because of its proximity to the venue and walkability to downtown restaurants and sights. In the hotel we found a Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, nice shower and friendly staff. Good restaurant too. A very good hotel experience!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jwillits2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thanks very much for your review. We are two blocks away from the Red Hat amphitheater and haven't discussed it often in this media. Great facility and great bands!

We appreciate you posting on Trip Advisor!

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Upon checking in, we were told our room was not yet clean even though it was well after check-in time. We needed to get to a wedding and couldn't wait, so the staff member put our bags in storage and said we could return soon to pick up our bags and key to the room. When we returned a couple hours later between the ceremony and reception, we were told they had given our room away and there were no other rooms available. Every other hotel in the area was also full. So we had to leave the wedding early that evening to drive back home. They could not provide a sensible explanation for how this happened, and I would say this might be an isolated circumstance but there was another person there whose room had also been given away. To make matters worse, the management was not at all considerate and we missed an hour of the reception while they slowly tried to resolve the situation - and I was still charged for the room and had to spend half an hour on the phone trying to get a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Clearly not our hotel's finest hour. Please accept my apology as well as our team's. Human error occurred when your wait listed room was checked into our computer system. The room had not been properly updated and showed discrepant in our computers. When it was physically inspected your belongings were still in our bell closet and another associate believed that this room was vacated by the previous evening's guest. It was summarily checked out to allow for a new arrival. But the guests that were checked out was actually your reservation. The room was then released to another arriving guest. Clearly the hotel's fault and obligation to correct.

I understand that our team has been in direct communication with you and has delivered the requested compensation.

Again, please accept our apology. Our team strives for 100% satisfaction but clearly let you down last weekend.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My family & I had the worst experience at this hotel. My family member purchased the Penthouse level of this hotel. Melvin the security officer harassed us the entire time. We had stayed there the year before and did not experience the crap we did recently. Our last visit we purchased well over 20 rooms. We will never bring business back to this company. As a staff and law enforcement, we have expectations of how people should speak to an individual. Melvin was rude, nasty attitude. he lied and stated there were complaints when the front desk had no knowledge of this. It was a room of less than 10 people with no music sitting around chatting and laughing but yet he was the ONLY individual to have an issue with us. He ruin our chances ever returning. I am only rating this because this is the only way I could submit a review

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Philogyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for your review. We never take evicting a guest from the hotel lightly. However, for the well being of the guests who complained our security team had to take this action.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Finally, a Marriott that seems to live up to the name that you would expect. Very nice, clean hotel with great service (check in, room service, valet) and nice accomodations.

The hotel is located right in the center of the Raleigh revitalized downtown. Lots of local bars and restaurants to walk to after a long day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NH_Road_Warrior_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Wow; what a great review! We appreciate you taking the time to post about your recent stay at the Raleigh Marriott City Center! We are proud to be part of a an energized downtown and proud to represent Marriott!

Our team works very hard to satisfy our guests each day. While there are time we aren't successful our mission is a journey- not a destination!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The downtown location is incredibly convenient, but the valet parking is crazy (though tolerable if you can be patient). The quality of the hotel is very good overall, with nice, clean rooms. The staff were mostly helpful, though the guy at the front desk on check-in mixed up a few things. The breakfast buffet deserves special mention- high quality, fresh fruit, and many options... though they ran out of several items. Overall, a very good option downtown.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank tekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thanks for your great review of the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Posta Tuscan Grille has gotten some great accolades lately. Currently we are ranked in the top 5% nationwide in Quality of Food by Marriott's guest satisfaction system.

We are very proud of the dining room's performance and strive to be excellent in all our disciplines.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
4.4 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#33 of 87 in Raleigh
119 reviews
4.4 mi away
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
5.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott Crabtree Valley
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range: $189 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a successful and enjoyable stay in Raleigh, North Carolina at Raleigh Marriott City Center. Conveniently connected to the Raleigh Convention Center, our hotel in downtown Raleigh offers the opportunity to discover an area filled with vibrant destinations. Historic Oakwood is close to our hotel, as are top attractions including PNC Arena, Marbles Kids Museum and Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing