We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great location, a very nice downtown choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raleigh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #17 of 83 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great location, a very nice downtown choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A recent one night stay in Raleigh was made memorable at the Raleigh Marriott City Center. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. The room was spacious, clean, and quiet. We had made the trip to Raleigh mainly to attend a concert in the Performing Arts Center - and this hotel is directly across the street from the auditorium, which was a real plus on a cold night. After the concert my wife and I relaxed in the hotel's bar, and watched as the various and members we had seen on stage came in to spend some down-time before retiring upstairs to their rooms.

There are two things to be aware of before reserving here:

There is a fee for parking in the attached lot ($12 a day self-park... or there is valet parking for a bit more). But this is a center city location, and that type of fee is pretty standard.

There is also a charge for wireless or internet connections. These are a pain. Of course, you can beg and plead with the desk staff - and may get those removed... but need to be aware of the extra charges.

I did find a very good price on the room for our stay, so you should try all the variations you can find to see which prices are available - government employee, AAA, Senior Citizen, etc. Sometimes these are better than you can find on the typical internet travel sites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
The team at the Raleigh Marriott City Center thanks you for your great review of our hotel. We appreciate your posting and all your contributions to TripAdvisor.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    227
    93
    30
    26
See reviews for
103
121
31
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The little touches that I always WISH a hotel would have but most don't: the lightswitch in the bathroom is gently lit so you can find it in the dark, the room was dark and quiet, even though we were near the elevator and there was a conference going on with kids all over, there are LOTS of electrical outlets within easy reach, including in the lamp base by the bed, and when you turn on the television you get a very easy to read menu that quickly takes you to the channel you want to go to. Everything was totally spotless, no smells, large, comfortable. A quite perfect stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Donna,

Wow! What a great review! Clearly you are a seasoned traveler and know the details to look for!

The team certainly appreciates your positive feedback and looks forward to serving you again.

Best Regards and Merry Christmas!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a conference. The confernce was held inside the hotel. Never had better, ample food at a conference before. Italian Resteraunt in the lobby is a little pricey for the portions. Rooms are very spacious and clean.

Only draw back at this hotel, no fridges or microwaves in the rooms. I was told the only microwave at the whole site was in the gift shop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reece W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. Your contributions are important to us. Travelers review your postings everyday! Please let us know if we may be of any service in the future.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The location is great, right in the middle of everything. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The room, however, smelled a bit damp to me (my husband didn't notice this but I sure did). We later learned that the walls were a bit thin too as the old cliche of the headboard bouncing against the wall from next door accompanied by moans began to be heard both late night and again at about 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your review! We certainly appreciate your feedback and posting comments relative to your stay at our hotel. We do our best to accommodate all guests and apologize for the disruption.

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is one of the nicer Marriotts I've been to around the country. The building seems in really good shape - FF&E are all up to date and the rooms are standard Marriott stuff. The lobby bar and restaurant have been hopping each time I've stayed here and the gym is excellent - very well lit and lots of modern equipment. There are some neat character places nearby (walking distance to The Pit if you're in the mood for Carolina BBQ). I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there are many bad choices - no eyesores or sources of excessive noise were obviou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianJDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We certainly appreciate your review. It is apparent that you are a seasoned traveler who knows his hotels! We are very fortunate to operate a beautiful hotel in a vibrant city. All of downtown's amenities are just steps away.

Thanks again.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The place is beautiful compare to a nearby Marriott at Crabtree Valley. I was pleasantly welcomed by staff at check in. Got myself a room in the concierge level because I have platinum status. Room got nice decor for its class. There are small reading light mounted on the bed headboard - nice. Ample lighting in the room to nicely lit my room. I had a pleasant, quiet stay.

What I was not expecting: I checked in early enough to get some snack at the concierge lounge, but it was closed - make sure you call to see if this lounge open before making that extra effort. Monday morning came and the lounge still closed - had to dine in the restaurant below and it's not really that good.

Other than that, my stay was uneventful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your review. Unfortunately, on Sunday evening after the Thanksgiving it is prohibitive to staff the concierge lounge for 8% occupancy. Holidays are the only time that the lounge does go dark. All guests were provided both complimentary drink and breakfast coupons to use in Posta. Typically, the club room (concierge lounge) is open Sunday through Thursday evenings and Monday through Friday mornings. If a closure occurs all guests who warrant club room privileges are accommodated with like amenities at the hotel's expense.

Thanks again for your review. It raised a great issue.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DasBier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in town for a conference at the convention center. Usually I avoid the hotels right near the convention centers during meetings as they tend to be over-priced when a meeting is in town. However, there are very few hotels in the downtown Raleigh area within walking distance to the convention center so I stayed here. It is a nice hotel, with a great view and excellent location within walking distance to many restaurants. The spa is a nice way to unwind after a long day. The climate control in the room works well and you can set the fan to be on continuous run, which is a nice way to drown out noises for those of us who are light sleepers.

However, I do get ticked off when in this day and age, they still charge $10 for WiFi access or don't offer free (or discounted) parking. It's all these add-on charges that make staying within budget a headache. That's similar to the nickel-and-diming airlines are doing with passengers with checked luggage or printing boarding passes. Worse yet, you don't find out about these charges until you arrive or you dig around on their website. At the very least, offer free wifi in the lobby, like some other places do, or have free WiFi in the Starbucks. All I want is to check my email and browse the web in the evening, and I think it's ridiculous to charge that much.

Also, I wish they'd provide thinner blankets. I don't get this trend at many hotels in the last few years to provide thick down duvets/comforters that are much too warm for the room. I had to set the a/c to 60 degrees in November of all things and was still waking up bathed in sweat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DasBier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thanks for your posting about the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Unfortunately, internet charges are beyond enterprise level control. We certainly believe in full disclosure. Currently, Marriott Rewards Elite status members receive complimentary WIFI. All other guests are charged $9.95 per 24 hour period.

Best regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#45 of 83 in Raleigh
3.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
1.6 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#33 of 83 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Property: Raleigh Marriott City Center
Address: 500 Fayetteville St, Raleigh, NC 27601-2118
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing