We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Talk to the Cable Gods......” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raleigh Marriott City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Talk to the Cable Gods......”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

You want to watch TV.....go to the Menu....see all channels......WITH NO SHOW LISTINGS......one must hit every channel seperately....to see what's on...then return to the menu and start again......FRUSTRATING and a waste of my time.
Internet connections poor. Had to reconnect three times in 15 minutes.......my time is valuable........obviously this hotel doesn't take that into consideration.
Will not return EVER.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Thanks for your posting regarding your stay at the new Raleigh Marriott City Center. I certainly can appreciate your frustration with losing valuable time on both the internet and television connections. Time cannot be replaced and I often feel the same way.

I have started our IT department checking the dependability and capacity of our network. Yours is the first complaint about its stability.

We appreciate you letting us know the challenges that you had with your stay at our hotel. If you wish to discuss it off line please contact me directly.

Thanks again for your contribution. Our ultimate goal is to improve our service delivery to all of our guests.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    256
    94
    32
    28
See reviews for
121
131
32
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA - NC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed here for one night on St Patrick's Day. This is fairly new hotel. The newest one downtown and is located near all the restaurants and bars in the downtown core. You can pretty much walk from here to a lot of the places or take a cab for $3-$5. The lobby is large and nicely decorated. Check in was kinda slow, but maybe we just got there at the same time as several others. I requested a room on a high floor and was given one on the top floor so that was nice. The room was very clean and had no issues. The hotel bar is good with plenty of staff and seating. We ate breakfast in the hotel and the buffet had plenty of choices or you could order form the menu. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
The Raleigh Marriott City Center is delighted to be a part of the revitalized downtown. Our weekend getaways can be tailored to your needs. The hotel is virtually brand new and is centrally located for all that Raleigh has to offer!

Thanks so much for your posting.

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I must say I am picky when it comes to hotels and this was one of my best experiences. I recently told my husband that I was giving up on North Carolina hotels because each experience has been questionable. With that said, this experience was the contrary. From start to finish, the front desk clerks were great, especially Danielle, who helped us out with a reservation issue due to the fact the hotel was sold out. In addition, the breakfast was wonderful with a full array of choices. P.S., they have the best grits! Further the restaurant staff was top notch and made I a point to remember certain preferences each morning. Once my husband finds out when his next conference will be scheduled next year, I will without a doubt book again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2ecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thanks for the posting regarding your great stay at the Raleigh Marriott City Center. Our team takes pride in their service delivery and the hotel. Whether your travel was for leisure or business Raleigh has become a wonderful destination.

Thanks again for your comments!

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
321 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

One night in downtown Raleigh and a good night sleep. Very new and fresh Marriott. Great gym and location with ample options for food and drink within a qtr mile. Id stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flipper95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Flipper95,

Thanks so much for your posting! We depend on guests like you to get the word out differentiating our hotel from the rest of the choices. Our team is what keeps us new and sharp!

Best Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed one night at the Raleigh Marriott in February 2012. The hotel is in a perfect downtown location, and it's within walking distance of many restaurants, bars, museums, and other sights. In fact, once we parked the car, we didn't move it until we checked out.

The staff were extremely accommodating and even allowed us to check in a bit early and late. The rooms were spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. The gym and pool areas were extremely nice.

I would definitely stay here again if I find myself in the Raleigh area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QTPyePop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Colejohns12345,

Thanks for your super review! We are very fortunate to have an awesome hotel in a great city. As a hotelier, this is a dream assignment. Our team is very high performing and engaged in our service delivery. I could not be more proud.

Once again, thanks for your contributions!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very clean Marriot. The staff is very friendly and the location is unbeatable. Also, the bar is nice and tends to have a large crowd. Finally what sticks out the most is this Marriot has a real gym. The gym has a mixture of around 25 treadmills, elliptical, and bikes all with build in T.V.’s additionally, it has free weights, and about 8 different work out machines. Only issue is they don't validate parking ($12).

Room Tip: The 4th floor has the pool, hot tub, and gym so its convenient but might be a little loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colejohns12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Colejohns12345,

Thanks for an amazing review! The fitness center at our hotel is really great. You descibed it very well, thank you! Our heated 4th floor pool is pretty amazing too... I wish we had a sun deck though.

Regards,

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jtbldb
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

The hotel is a wonderful location is you want to stroll around downtown Raleigh at night. All parts of the hotel were spic and span. The bed was so comfortable. We ordered room service breakfast the night before and it arrived on schedule and was delicious. All employees were competent and hospitable. We came in late and had a lovely dessert and drink at the bar. The waitress was especially helpful offering suggestions for our stay. We loved it and hope to stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Long hallway, so if you don't want to walk to far from elevator ask for a room central to elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHofmann, General Manager at Raleigh Marriott City Center, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear jtbldb,

Thanks for your review. Th the Raleigh Marriott City Center we strive to have a well trained team that also shows Genuine Care for our guests. Our service is key to our future success. The hotel is a beautiful, new facility. But we would be nothing without competent caring team members.

Again, Thanks for the wonderful review and I hope to meet you on a return visit!

Bill Hofmann
General Manager
Raleigh Marriott City Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
Sheraton Raleigh Hotel
#46 of 84 in Raleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Raleigh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Raleigh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh - Brownstone - University
1.6 mi away
Aloft Raleigh
Aloft Raleigh
#25 of 84 in Raleigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raleigh Marriott City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh Marriott City Center

Property: Raleigh Marriott City Center
Address: 500 Fayetteville Street, Raleigh, NC 27601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#27 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raleigh Marriott City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Raleigh Marriott City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Marriott City Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing