We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I were visiting Duke and UNC Chapel Hill and stayed here for two nights. The staff was amazing and the valet guys were so friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. This location has amazing shopping right outside the door. I would recommend this hotel if visiting this area. I look forward to my next stay with them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolsFan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Greetings VolsFan4, and many thanks for the kind words regarding your Renaissance experience. Your visit sounded like a difficult one, as Duke and UNC carry with them not only outstanding educational experiences, but also a line in the sand and some serious bragging rights.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and it appears that our folks did well to enhance your visit. Engagement is our top priority, and while aesthetics can fade, sincere hospitality never gets old.

Thanks again, and we look forward to your return.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    142
    27
    12
    10
See reviews for
124
138
17
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel as a weekend get away. The hotel is nice. My husband fell in love with the Fitness Center! Luther was nice and was able to walk us to the pool and tell us a little about the hotel. My husband and I thought that was very generous of him because he stopped working to assist us! The only con we have about the hotel is the cleanliness of the room. Something in the room caused my son's nose to run and he began to cough. All of these symptoms stopped after we left the hotel. All of the staff were very pleasant. I hope that management will be able to fix the cleanliness of the rooms! I saw that other reviews mentioned the same problem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sexysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Greetings Sexysj
Many thanks for taking the time to reflect on your Renaissance experience. Very glad to hear that our folks continue to engage and invite Discovery, as it is such a large part of who we are, and what North Hills is all about. The symptoms you have mentioned has been identified, and is actually part of the cleanliness of the room. At the completion of each clean, we spritz the room with a room scent. The scent rotates seasonally throughout the year, and the current scent has in fact been commented on one other time and has aroused ones allergies to the point of sneezing. We are in the process of rotating out of that particular item, and returning to another season.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back on property in the near future.

Richard Rose, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

My family stayed booked a room to stay in for a concert nearby. The hotel gave us a king sized bed when we booked two doubles online. On the way we called and checked on our reservations and corrected the bed issue. It was not resolved when we checked in hours later. The hotel staff treated our daughters very poorly and would not allow them in the lobby or the pool/workout area despite the fact that they were quietly reading. While our room was nice, it was far eclipsed by the rude staff and the incorrect room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc0nnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
tcOnnroy,
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your Renaissance experience. I am very sorry that we were unable to achieve your bedding request, as it appears that period of time saw overwhelming requests for our Queen/Queen inventory, and unfortunately it appears that we were fully committed. We strive to engage and welcome our guests, and regrettably that was not the perception we left you and your family. This will certainly be the topic of conversation, both internally, and with our Health Club partners.

We hope to have the opportunity to put our best foot forward in the future, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly to make those arrangements.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

My newly husband I are from the area and had a very small and intimate, nontraditional wedding last weekend. Originally, we had not planned to have a "honeymoon" but when we found that we had the opportunity to spend our first night as newly weds away from our two children, we jumped at it! We have always talked about visiting the Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel as a weekend getaway, but have never really had the chance.

Upon entering the hotel, we were pleasantly greeted by "Marcus" at the front desk. He immediately asked if were familar with the area and when we explained that we had just gotten married a few hours before and were from the area, but wanted to have a local mini honeymoon, he congratulated us and offered to upgrade our room, free of charge. He treated us with such courtsey and generousity. He asked us if we had any allergies and what type of wine we preferred. Little did we know, he had the chef's specialty, an awesome, delicious cheesecake, with two spoons sent to ur room. It was the BEST cheesecake either of us have had! We wanted to give Marcus a tip, but he insisted that we keep our tip and simply enjoy our stay.

Our room was the cleanest hotel room I have ever been in. The king sized bed was so comfy! The best part of our room (and my husband would say this as well) was the in-mirror TV in the spacious bathroom. The room overall, was very neat, well cleaned, and modern. We never had to move our car once we initially parked. The shops and eatery surrounding the hotel, made for a romantic evening. We walked hand in hand, looking at the shops, enjoying the food and bars, and even live music on the lawn.

We can not wait to visit the Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel again. It has become our local weekend getaway favorite! Thanks to Marcus, we were able to enjoy our first night together as newly weds and truly feel like we were far away and were being catered to! It will always be a memorable experience. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seeayegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Greetings seeayegee,
Congratulations to you and your husband, and many thanks for the feedback and kind words. We love the fact that our location affords folks the accessibility to so many discoveries, and have made it central in our approach to make sure everyone is invited and informed of everything Our Renaissance and North Hills has to offer. Beyond the immaculate room, and the shiny objects, we pride ourselves on folks like Marcus that project and promote a sincere passion for hospitality, and for making each stay memorable.

Thanks again, and we will look forward to your return.

Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Booked 10+ rooms for a wedding party in May of 2013. Only half the rooms were available at the check in time of 3pm. When we asked the front desk they told us the rooms would not be available till 5pm. In addition, champagne ordered by the bride was never delivered. And extra chairs for the bride and groom's suite took over an hour, and only 2 out of 5, to be delivered. Management was very inattentive to our complaints during our stay. It was not until I contacted the corporate office after our stay that anyone in management at North Hills heeded our complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just have had experienced with this NC hotel and would like to share some thoughts regarding this hotel. On the positive side, the hotel looks upscale, all employees appear to be courteous, the location is excellent and the amenities are good. On the flip side, the following are the areas that brought down its grading:
1) My reservation was messed up: Personally, I think some attributes of the room could be optional and the hotel could meet the request based on its availability (such as request for connecting room, type of pillow etc..) BUT some attributes could NOT be optional such as the number of beds or smoking/non smoking room. IF the hotel listed the room as king or 2 queens, then the hotel should let customers choose the type at the time of arrival and not the other way around. If they are not sure they could meet the request then the type of room has to be determined unambiguously at the time of reservation. We had a party of 4 and had reservation a few months ahead, when we arrived, the front desk gave us a room and did not bother asking/confirming the type of room. At our surprise upon entering the room, we only saw one king size bed and was told later that they ran out of 2 queen bedroom and our request could only based on availability!!! The type of room,in my opinion, should not be optional or at least not up to the hotel discretion. if we knew it was not available, we would have looked elsewhere...it is like giving a non smoking customer a smoker room without advanced warning that his request of non smoking room is based on availability. The front desk did solve the problem by providing roll away beds, but they are dirty and smelly... they did not even bother cleaning them before giving them to us... after using the bed for one night, we developed allergy and had stuffy nose... not very impressive the way the hotel treat its "value customers". This is the first time we ran into this situation using Marriott but we had the conventional Marriott hotels before and not Renaissance. I thought Renaissance would be at least as good as the standard Marriott if not a bit better... we were not quite correct.
2) The carpet was dirty... even people sleeping on the king size bed had running nose/sneezing constantly and the symptom went away as we left the room... we were not sure if the room allowed pets before us and was not properly cleaned or if the carpet had never been vacuumed for a while.... the hotel seems to have all the bells and whistle but have overlooked the most basic: cleanliness.

Room Tip: Look for the trap "king OR 2 queen"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrequentTravllingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
FrequentTravllingGuy,
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills. We appreciate your kind comments about our courteous staff, our central location and various amenities that we’re proud to offer our guests. It’s unfortunate to learn about the areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate your initial room request and the inconveniences you experienced as a result. These details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark during your stay. Your feedback provides many areas that we can work on in order to improve our guest experience. We greatly appreciate your feedback on these areas and hope you will return and see our improvements. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Renaissance is located in north hills and has lots to to do right outside the front door. I have stayed here over 30 days and have neverbhad a been experience. Great art, great bar tucked away, great lounge and incredible staff.

Of special note: John at the front desk is always helpful and goes above and beyond what is normally above and beyond. Great connection with customers and will often come from behind desk to say hello. Very personal and personable. I haven't been there in a month or so and was at another renaissance property and thought this review was long overdue.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Db0340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Db0340,
It’s great to hear from you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at Renaissance Raleigh North Hills. I’m glad you had an opportunity to experience all that our property has to offer, and found our central location to provide many options and conveniences for your travel needs. We appreciate your kind comments about our wonderful staff and their excellence in hospitality. I will be certain to recognize John with a special commendation for his in going above and beyond to provide each guest with an exceptional stay. We greatly appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Richard Rose, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raleigh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Raleigh North Hills
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh / Crabtree Valley
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh - Capital Blvd. North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Raleigh - Durham Airport/Brier Creek
4.3 mi away
Raleigh Marriott City Center
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Raleigh/Cary-I-40 (PNC Arena)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel

Property: Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel
Address: 4100 Main At North Hills St, Raleigh, NC 27609-5754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Raleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Raleigh
#6 Business Hotel in Raleigh
#8 Family Hotel in Raleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover modern luxury among Raleigh North Hills hotels at the Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel, mere steps from endless shopping, dining and exciting entertainment. From delightful service, to locally popular, eclectic cuisine by award winning Chef Dean Thompson, to specialty wedding services, whimsical sophistication abounds. This hotel in Raleigh North Hills is sure to please even the most discerning traveler or event planner, with plush comfort in every guest room and suite, and exclusive benefits for guests in Concierge Level rooms. Impeccable event planners will cater to your every whim in more than 8,000 square feet of function space, whether it be for your Raleigh wedding, meeting, reunion or special event. When dining at our Raleigh North Hills hotel, Flights Restaurant & Lounge is not to be missed, featuring southern fusion and more. Guests also enjoy the services and facilities of the full fitness center just next door, including swimming pool, cardio and weight rooms and fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Raleigh North Hills Hotel Raleigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing