We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmmmmm”

The Pit Authentic Barbecue
Reserve with OpenTable
The Pit Authentic Barbecue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,456 Restaurants in Raleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dawson Street
Transit: The R-line stops right in front of the restaurant!
north pocono
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went with Daughter and Son in law, they go all the time. Great food and nice atmosphere. Staff very attentive!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    713
    300
    93
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bad Night”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was the last time we will go there. My son and his family had just gotten back from Washington by train and my wife and I were going to take them out to eat. The Pit is very close to train station and we decided to go there. We did not have reservations and knew we would have to wait awhile. We got an estimated of about 30 minutes and were waiting. After about 45 minutes we checked on where we were on list and were told we should have the next table. After another 15 minutes we checked again and they said again we should be next. We saw another large party come in and sit down at the table that was suppose to be ours. I went to the receptionist and asked why we did not get that table and there was no answer. We said that we had been waiting over an hour and we where going to leave. We knew that we were going to have to wait but to let others get seated before us without letting us know was unacceptable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“BarBQue”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had dinner at The Pit and really enjoyed the brisket. I highly recommend the food. Brisket is the best in Raleigh. My office had our department dinner and the staff was wonderful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!! One of the best restaurants in the state.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

No, this isn't hyperbole. It is truly fantastic. When Mr Mitchell ran his BBQ restaurant in Wilson, we'd drive MILES for his food. I would often go out of my way through Wilson on my way to the beach just to get collards, slaw, cornbread, and BBQ for our trip. It was well worth the extra gas.

Folks this is NOT Memphis or Texas BBQ. Also, it is NOT Kansas City "BBQ." It is OUR barbeque, and WE like it just the way it is. Open your minds and palates, and you will experience something divine. And, try the collards.

Everything is good. Ribs, chicken, BBQ, brisket, collards, cornbread, etc. etc. etc. When my family eats there, we each get something different and then share. The prices are higher in Raleigh than they were in Wilson. But, The Pit is also in a much more expensive neighborhood. So, if you remember his place on 301, be prepared for some sticker shock. Also, the menu has greatly expanded from what it was in Wilson. Bacon Bruschetta? Yeah, and it's pretty good.

One more thing -- don't call it "pulled pork barbeque" unless you want to sound silly. Just call it barbeque.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milk41358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved the food! The wait is long if you don't get to the restaurant early. The setting and service was awesome! Can't wait to go back to Raleigh to visit again! Everything was excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muttton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pit Authentic Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to The Pit Authentic Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing